Networking Question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by sosptuba, Aug 24, 2003.

  1. sosptuba

    sosptuba OT's Official Cow fister OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    2,901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UW-Madison
    We ran approx 100Ft of cat 5e from our router to a computer....Three computers are on the network, two work fine the third does not. I tried installing a new network card and that is not the problem. I tried changing out the cable and that did not work. The cable tester says that everything is working correctly. The computer doesn't even recognize that the cable is plugged in. What is wrong??:confused:
     
  2. TGizzle

    TGizzle Pimpin' the 2K8 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    10,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
  3. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,626
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    From the top now:

    Are the link lights on the switch/NIC on?
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Take one of the computers that works fine and plug it into the same cable that isn't working. That will tell you whether it's something in the computer (hardware or software), or something with the network (switch/cable). Get back to us.
     
  5. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
     
  6. Tom Ridge

    Tom Ridge Guest

    Plugged into a crossover port?
     
  7. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    :rofl:

    Rule of thumb on cable: 99.999999% of the time, it's never the cable. That 0.000001% of the time it is, it's actually incorrect pinout on the modular plug, or you've layed the cable on top of a bunch of electronic ballasts or something similiar.
     
  8. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Unless you make your own cable with no tester ;) I bought a real shitty crimper and had shitload of problems and all we had was a multimeter (not bad - but not great either).

    Just goes to show you that there are some things it's worth payng the extra bucks for!
     
  9. jrwfz5

    jrwfz5 Guest

    100ft cable??? why not just install a wireless networking card??
     
  10. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Cuz wireless is SLOOOOOWWW for LANs
     
  11. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    This is true. Spending $20 for a crimper versus spending $50 makes a big difference.
     

Share This Page