Networking Problems

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Janson, May 3, 2005.

  1. Janson

    Janson Bill Stickers in innocent. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    127,382
    Likes Received:
    403
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    Alright, some time over the weekend my router has stopped working w/ my modem. If I plug my computer directly into the modem, an linksys, I am able to connect. However, if I run it through the router it won't connect to the internet. any ideas?

    ps: tried two different routers. both linksys
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    first of all, ditch the crapsys... Secondly, reset the modem and reconfigure it.
     
  3. Janson

    Janson Bill Stickers in innocent. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    127,382
    Likes Received:
    403
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    "reconfigure" the modem?
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    router
     
  5. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    I had a similar issue and got it to work after doing two things.
    1. Flash the firmware of the router.
    2. Unplug both the router and modem for ~10 seconds. pLug modem back in first and let it sync. Plug router back in next. Hook up all cables, etc.
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Nothing is wrong with Linksys, so ignore the above comment.

    Definitely check to see if there is a firmware update for the router like said above and try again.

    Is your computer getting an IP when it doesn't want to connect?
     
  7. Janson

    Janson Bill Stickers in innocent. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    127,382
    Likes Received:
    403
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    Well, I got frustrated as hell today and took my linksys router back and exchanged it for a D link. and it runs perfect on the first try. so now my shit is running. Thank you for trying to help me any way. I appreciate it.
     

Share This Page