networking problems

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MobileSuit, Dec 10, 2004.

  1. MobileSuit

    MobileSuit New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    I have a laptop running XP home and a desktop running XP Pro here at school. I have a linksys wireless B router that I have them both hooked up to and then the router is hooked up to the Purdue University ResNet. Now I used to be able to move files back and forth but I cant anymore.

    I can ping the laptop from the desktop and vice versa

    The desktop can get on Workgroup and see itself and the laptop but it cannot access the laptop it says I dont have permissions and that the network path does not exist. The laptop gets this message when I try and view the workgroup.

    Both computers have SP2. I've tried to connect them with the firewall on and off.

    Anyone have any suggestions or ideas?

    Is there some series of steps that I'm just not doing in the correct order?

    someone help me!!
     
  2. Hua

    Hua AZN photographer crew

    Joined:
    May 5, 2000
    Messages:
    2,689
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    Did you remember to enable sharing on the harddrives?
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    XP Home and Pro don't like each other. you prolly have simple file sharing disabled on the Pro machine.
     
  4. MobileSuit

    MobileSuit New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    I've shared the C drive on both machines. And I've run the network setup wizard for ever different configuration
     
  5. MobileSuit

    MobileSuit New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    What would keep a windows XP computer from accessing a workgroup? I think thats what my problem is. It can see the workgroup but when I try to access it, it tells me that I do not have permission to access it and that the network path does not exist.
     

Share This Page