Networking Problem

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dmac2005, Aug 4, 2006.

  1. dmac2005

    dmac2005 Mike Tyson's Punchout = G.O.A.T.

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, South Carolina
    Bought a broadband router today. Tried to set it up and it says that my router cant connect to the internet. Help?

    AIM : UnkleDee
     
  2. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    The internet is down today for maintenance :(
     
  3. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Chances are that you are simply doing something wrong in the setup.

    What kind of router are you running?

    Wireless?
     
  4. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I think it requires basic info such as DNS entries maybe, whether you're doing static IP addressing or dynamic and a few other little things.
     
  5. tenmeikanoh

    tenmeikanoh New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you saying you are adding a router behind your modem, or it has a built-in modem? I assume it's cable or DSL...which one is it?
     
  6. RaginBajin

    RaginBajin Have you punched a donkey today?

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    8,740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NoVA
    Make sure you plugged the cable coming from the DSL/Cable modem into the correct port.
     
  7. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tie a knot in the ethernet cable going to your router, tight as can be. Sometimes there's an electromagnetic "echo" on the line, and this will eliminate it. I do a square knot, but I've seen some real boyscout shit before, slip knot style for easy undoing.
     
  8. Nefarious77

    Nefarious77 Guest

    If you're on dsl, you may need to setup your PPPoE in the router first.
     
  9. Dj_MikeyMike

    Dj_MikeyMike New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    oZ
    First of all ... try to log into the router from your computer... if that doesnt work... erm... your gay..

    If that works.. then set the settings you got from your internet provider.. which should make it work
     
  10. Anti-social

    Anti-social We deal in lead

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    22,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The path of the beam
    Q: Tried to start my car today and it wouldn't start. Any ideas why ????
    A: To many variables with no details.
     
  11. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sometimes I wonder what its like to be a woman.

    Am I transgendered?
     
  12. Schproda

    Schproda New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    Nah, you just make a shitload of useless posts.
     

Share This Page