Networking Problem vs OutOfIdeas

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by .:JustaDrunk:., Jun 28, 2007.

  1. .:JustaDrunk:.

    .:JustaDrunk:. \/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Central, PA
    Having a very strange problem on a Windows 2003 Server.

    On the my Public(WAN) NIC, For reasons I cannot explain, after 24 hours, all Ports are closed.

    They are normaly only filtered for http & ftp, with a soft-firewall.

    I'm not sure what is causing this, but after 24 hours the server becomes in-accessable from the WAN. After I disable the NIC and re-Enable it, everything goes back to normal.

    I'm thinking that the NIC could be faulty, but it is relativly new (On Board NIC /Dell Server). I'm gonna try replacing it with a PCI NIC later today, but was wondering if anyone had this happen to them before.
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like a DHCP lease problem. Have you assigned a static IP address to the WAN connection?
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    ugh. deuse.... this is 99% probably *NOT* a DHCP issue.
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do you explain the 24h time limit then?

    While you're explaining, try tacking a useful suggestion on the end of your post too.
     
  5. .:JustaDrunk:.

    .:JustaDrunk:. \/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Central, PA
    Yes, its assigned a static IP. I have a block of 8. I have 3 other servers running on Static IP without a problem

    edit: I connect the WAN to a different NIC and the same problem occurs.
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    What happens if you change it to a different static IP than the one it currently uses?
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    for starters, he's not using DHCP. Secondly, 24H is arbitrary and is NOT necessarily representative of any DHCP lease without further information.

    being able to point out the exact solution is not neccessary to show that you are wrong.




    For example? What is the meaning of life?

    You could say it is chocolate.

    I would say that you are wrong.

    Without myself having to know the answer, we can still reasonable ascertain that you are wrong.
     
  8. .:JustaDrunk:.

    .:JustaDrunk:. \/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Central, PA
    the NIC has 3 WAN IP's, multiple websites are running on them, hard to just up and change them.
     
  9. couchlock

    couchlock OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    40,837
    Likes Received:
    307
    Location:
    The Highway
    is the NIC still working or do you have to disable it/reenable to get it back online alltogether?
     
  10. Cthalupa

    Cthalupa New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    46,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    What firewall are you running/how is it set up? How much control does it actually have?
     
  11. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I must agree..
     
  12. .:JustaDrunk:.

    .:JustaDrunk:. \/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Central, PA
    I have to disable/re-enable it to get it back online. The strange part, im am noticing now, is that my other server (within the same subnet) can access Port 21 & 80 from the troubled sever/NIC, but from my PC at home every port appears to be filtered. Until I disable/re-enable the NIC, all ports appear 'filtered', and http is not accessable.

    and yes, all testing was done with & without firewall enabled. using nmap to scan
     
  13. .:JustaDrunk:.

    .:JustaDrunk:. \/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Central, PA
    im using GhostWall, I was orignaly using another one, but this problem occured and I switched firewalls thinking that was the cause
     
  14. wagner

    wagner Disallowed words OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    28,314
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    I had the same problem with my Dell D520 laptop. The NIC started blocking in/outbound traffic once a day, every day. Disable/re-enable always fixed it. I upgraded the NIC driver and never had a problem since.
     
  15. .:JustaDrunk:.

    .:JustaDrunk:. \/\/\/\/\/

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    5,725
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Central, PA
    I tried that also, didn't seem to help, i look again tomorrow, maybe i fuct up somewhere. This is a Dell PowerEdge server im having trouble with, fucking dell.
     

Share This Page