Networking Issues v.sharing

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Madness, Oct 6, 2005.

  1. Madness

    Madness Do not let Dr. Mario touch your genitals. He is no

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    37,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    OK I'm having some trouble enabling file sharing on my home network. The new computer I added to the workgroup seems to be working fine but my current PC won't access the workgroup at all or recognize the other computers. The new one is on XP Home SP2 and the old one is XP Pro SP1. I cant figure out whats causing the problem, I've created new networks on both and they're configured to the same settings but the old machine won't recognise the other pc or open the workgroup. Any ideas :hs:???
     
  2. Madness

    Madness Do not let Dr. Mario touch your genitals. He is no

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    37,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    massive amounts of jailbait pr0n for whoever can help.. :hsughw:
     
  3. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    firewall? did you try accessing the computer by typing in start->run \\computername

    or you can use it's ip address: \\192.168.X.X etc
     
  4. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    try this uninstall your firewall
    restart and look for it then reinstall it.
    not matter what firewall you have even if its nortin internet sec. it can do it
     
  5. Madness

    Madness Do not let Dr. Mario touch your genitals. He is no

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    37,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    :bowdown:.. forgot to shutdown ZoneAlarm while setting up on the old machine..

    Thanks problem solved. :)
     
  6. Madness

    Madness Do not let Dr. Mario touch your genitals. He is no

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    37,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    ok sratch that.. installed xp pro sp2 on the new computer and im having the same problem.. firewalls disabled and zonealarm uninstalled.
     
  7. Madness

    Madness Do not let Dr. Mario touch your genitals. He is no

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    37,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    access denied error
     
  8. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    How about trying to ping the IP of the other machine(s)?

    Check your network settings... I believe file and print sharing is disabled by default when SP2 is installed.
     
  9. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    make sure you are either using the same username on both machines, or add the respective ones you are using, and making sure they have permission to the share.
     
  10. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    did you turn off the SP2 firewall that turns its self on?
     
  11. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    The SP2 firewall should not be the issue since I have setup networks with it on and never had a problem. If it is turned on, make sure that you allow file and print sharing.
     
  12. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
  13. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
  14. Madness

    Madness Do not let Dr. Mario touch your genitals. He is no

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    37,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    how do I do that?

    both pcs have the same network settings and names (well different computer names of course) and sharing is enabled.
     
  15. Madness

    Madness Do not let Dr. Mario touch your genitals. He is no

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    37,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
  16. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    start control panel
    network and internet connections OR network connections depending on your view
    Right click on LAN and go to prop then click firewall and then execptions tap and click file and printer sharing
     
  17. Madness

    Madness Do not let Dr. Mario touch your genitals. He is no

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    37,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    no, i meant how would i ping the ip of the other machine :hs:.file/print sharing is enabled on both.
     
  18. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl

    kekeke :o
     
  19. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    start run type in cmd
    then do ping 192.168.1.1 or what ever the ip address is
     
  20. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Ditto...

    You can go to Start -> Run -> cmd and type ipconfig to get the IP of each machine.

    If the machines can successfully ping each other, your network settings are correct. It's probably a sharing/access issue.

    Like said above, creating a common user/password on each machine (even if you're not using the account) is a good idea too.
     
  21. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    If it's not a Windows firewall issue, make sure the username has a password.
     
  22. Madness

    Madness Do not let Dr. Mario touch your genitals. He is no

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    37,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    done but still the same issue..

    so far:
    windows firewall disabled on both
    router firewall disabled
    software firewalls disabled
    same user/pass
    file/printer sharing enabled

    when trying to ping the IP of the HP from the Cyberpower I get a access denied error. when trying to ping the Cyberpower from the HP the workgroup folder opens up showing the shared folder and the printer/fax folder but if I try to open the cyberpowers shared folder I still get the access 'denied error'.

    Cliffs: both pcs showing up in workgroup, but neither able to open the others shared folder.
     
  23. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ah, that sounds like a permissions issue. If it's XP Pro, right click the shared folder (on the host PC) and open the Security tab. Make sure the user you created is in there.

    If it's XP Crippled edition (Home), I have no idea.
     
  24. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    go into the properties of your network connection, tcpip properties, advanced, WINS, make sure "enable netbios over tcpip" is enabled
     
  25. Madness

    Madness Do not let Dr. Mario touch your genitals. He is no

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    37,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    well its not showing any usernames in that tab :dunno:, but I re-checked the share box on the Cyberpower and the sharedfolder is opening on the HP now :ugh:. But the HPs folder still isn't opening on the Cyberpower.. which I don't really mind as much, since I'm about to reformat this machine too. Thanks for the help though :bowdown:

    got nothing.. :hs:
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2005

Share This Page