Networking help please

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Goonigoogoo, Jan 15, 2005.

  1. Goonigoogoo

    Goonigoogoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm working on a PC here, i have VPN access to all his clients and can sign on every chat/messnger program but i cannot access the internet nor the router. I have access to the router via another PC with ease. The PC i was workin on had 3 IP's and i deleted all of them and now only shows 1.

    Why cant i have access to the net, am i missing something?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    what is the gateway. Make sure it's the same as the other PC and that the IP is not conflicting. Also check what your nameservers are.
     
  3. Goonigoogoo

    Goonigoogoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the input Jolly, i figured out the probelm. I was baffled as to why i had access to all the VPN addresses and chat programs and i even succesfully pinged a couple of websites in CMD. It was in fact an I.E. problem.

    And i discovered today that you can't send .exe files via msn messenger nor Gmail so i had to burn Mozilla Firefox on a cd, 5 MB :mamoru: and i now have access to the net. What a freakin hassle!
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    just make a .zip archive and send it in that. It'll upload faster, too, since it's compressed ;)

    But if you do a lot of work with systems, I recommend you invest $20 in a cheap USB pen-drive. It's an awsome tool for transporting data between two systems w/physical access.
     
  5. Goonigoogoo

    Goonigoogoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do have a pen drive but i had left it at home. And as for zipping it, good idea, i dont know why i didnt think of that. I'm still a n00b to IT business but mark my words, i will never forget zipping an exe file anymore.
     

Share This Page