Networking help (dd-wrt) v.wtf did I break

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by OFI, Jul 21, 2009.

  1. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    Up until around 6pm today my network had been working fine for 4 to 5 months. I have a Thompson DSL router modem in one room connected directly to a WRT54GL router (running dd-wrt) in another room.

    The WRT54GL was previously setup as a wireless bridge and had been left like this even after connecting the two routers directly and everything worked. I could access the internet from both routers.

    The only problem I had with DD-WRT was once it was all set up working I could no longer access the GUI.

    Because of this and wanting to change the LAN IP I did a hard reset and now have the GUI again but connecting through the WRT54GL I can't get on the internet (or see the other router)

    What do I need to do to DD-WRT to make it route properly? :hs:


    Cliffs: How do I get DD-WRT to route the internet from another router.

    Thanks :x:
     
  2. Askari

    Askari New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Messages:
    10,831
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Scotland
    Sympathy reply.
     
  3. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Why are you running two networks behind the modem? In other words, if you're using the WAN port of the Linksys, you're doing it wrong.

    This is assuming that the Thompson is also performing NAT.
     
  4. s2k

    s2k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Messages:
    46,932
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    corn field, iowa
    switch to tomato
     
  5. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    I'll be honest and say.. I don't really know wtf you just said.

    Hopefully my superb image may answer one of the questions..

    [​IMG]
     
  6. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    Er.. whilst it's not what I had in mind.. moving the red cable from the 'Internet' port of the WRT54GL to a network port has fixed the problem. It would be nice to use the internet port again though to free up the port. Even if I have no need for the extra ports most of the time..
     
  7. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    No it wouldn't be nice - you're just adding another hop in your network. What you want to do and what you've done is changed your linksys from an AP/Router to a simple AP/Switch.

    Anything else is needlessly complicating the situation.
     
  8. notladstyle

    notladstyle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    This. Spend $20 on newegg on a simple 5port switch with an uplink port and call it a day. No reason to have two NAT routers running with two wifi APs, thats a security risk too.
     
  9. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    Oh, thanks :bigthumb:

    So what is the Internet port for? for just connecting a modem only? not a router modem.

    Using stuff I already have > spending even more money.

    Wireless was previously disabled on the Linksys, I might disable it again but they're both using WPA2 I doubt anyone could really be arsed to try and hack into it around here.
    Although of course it's twice the risk of having one ;)
     
  10. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    The internet port or WAN port is for connecting to another subnet, whether that be the internet via an ADSL modem/Cable modem/fiber... or another LAN. What it's NOT for is connecting to the same LAN.
     
  11. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    Oh :hs:

    :uh:
     

Share This Page