Networking Crew: Business Network Upgrade Question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by neonwheels, Apr 10, 2007.

  1. neonwheels

    neonwheels New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    107,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    [this was a posed question in one of my classes]
    Background:
    Main Office = maxes out T1
    Adding 3 new remote offices w' T1 connections that will all VPN into the Main Office.
    Also, adding in Video Conferencing, VOIP, and streaming video.

    What would you do to upgrade the main office's connection?

    I'm not even sure where to start. I'm not finding too much information through AT&T's website and I figured they would be a major player to look to for the upgrade.

    Any help is appreciated, thanks.
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    look into a fibre solution? Who is your telco? Call them, they can advise you of any local loop options.
     
  3. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    We have a 20 meg pipe from the local telco (Frontier). In our ould building we had a fiber coming in from the local cable company too, all VPN/web traffic went over that one, all out going and wan traffic went over the Frontier connection. Call your locals and see what they have. :big grin:
     
  4. neonwheels

    neonwheels New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    107,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    AT&T. I'll give them a call and see what they say, I'm trying to avoid being charged for them to design everything on their end.
     
  5. neonwheels

    neonwheels New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    107,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Any other suggestions? Ideas?
     
  6. gnp

    gnp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    honestly i would look for a fiber channel for the main office, get a metro lan (local loop only) between the other offices and the main office.
     
  7. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Uh, you can always start redistributing the traffic over multiple connections.
     
  8. neonwheels

    neonwheels New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    107,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Ok, so I have it down to adding a second T1 or just saying screw it and going with a T3...

    T1's = $1000/month
    T3's = $10,000/month

    Are my numbers right? Is my thinking right? I figure we switch to the big guns now instead of adding another T1 and then in the future adding another T1, and so on and so forth and just going for the T3 now.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    depends on your market. I live in a not-so-competitive bandwidth market, and we get T1's around $550-$750/month (depending on carrier and IPs/SLA/etc). In a competitive market (bigger city), it's not uncommon to see them for under $399.

    Fibre around here is cheaper per Mbps than a T-1. Do you not have fibre available?
     
  10. gnp

    gnp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    we have a 20/10 Mb fibre channel for 1000 a month, although it is supposed to be 2000, which gives you an idea.

    t-1 lines run about 400 here.
     
  11. neonwheels

    neonwheels New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    107,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    If we do, I can't get prices to save my life.

    I do have a "free consultation" with Verizon this afternoon, so we'll see what they say. :hs:
     
  12. grocerylist

    grocerylist New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Microwave Internet
     
  13. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    add a second T1 to main office and call it a day
     

Share This Page