Networking 2 XP machines (easy, I know).

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by negative zero, Mar 2, 2007.

  1. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    Long story short.
    I had two machines (both XP pro w/sp2, legal, etc) networked a while back so I could share files, etc.
    A few formats later and I can't get them to do this anymore. They see each other but give the "not accessable or some permissions error when I try to access each.
    I know I am missign somehting simple but is there a good step-by-step guide that someone knows of?

    thanks
     
  2. LANshark

    LANshark This is America. My president is black and my Lamb

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,519
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bland Diego
    Pick the folder you want to share.

    right-click it. click on 'sharing and security...' option
     
  3. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    Already tried. I just gave the short version above to save typing out 10 paragraphs.

    I have sharing enabled. Set permissions, etc. something jsut isn't right but my brain is not cooperating.
     
  4. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Did you run the network setup wizard? I've had that problem before and ran the setup wizard and it worked afterwards. That, and check any firewalls you may have running.
     
  5. Neuman

    Neuman New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    .
     
  6. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    No, I didn't run the wizard but mostly because I have never had to run it before. But I will look into it. Is that where you have to create a floppy on one machine and put it into the other? I don't have a floppy in my machine.

    And firewalls are off.
     
  7. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    You don't need a floppy. Just make sure you select the same settings on both machines.
     
  8. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    map a network drive, make sure permissions include the username you want to access the folder
     
  9. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,439
    Likes Received:
    11
    have you tried the verifying simple stuff first?

    can they ping each other? if icmp traffic is allowed.

    are they within the same workgroup?

    can you at least just see other machine? \\ip.add.res.s

    after all of these pass, then you should start looking at permissions, etc..
     
  10. Grimreefer

    Grimreefer Life Sucks ... and then you Die

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Messages:
    716
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Go to my computer ... right click go to properties. Go to Computer name , and make sure both computers are in the same WorkGroup. Next use the wizard and it will work. You may be missing the Work Group step.

    * EDIT didn't read your whole post .... check and see if you can ping the other.
     
  11. Suazo

    Suazo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Disable Norton.
     
  12. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is he using Norton? Where does it say so?

    But yeah, if he's using the Norton Anti-Productivity Suite, he should uninstall it with all speed.
     
  13. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    lol @ Anti-Productivity Suite
     
  14. JayC71

    JayC71 Guest

    Create matching username/passwords on both computers and use those to assign permissions. Windows XP in a workgroup = passthrough authentication.

    Otherwise, set the 'everyone' group to include anonymous users and grant that group access.
     

Share This Page