network users v.testing cat cable

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DigiCrime, Oct 13, 2008.

  1. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    I need to check out some existing network cable and its all behind the walls and in the ceiling so I was thinking about a tool I could use that I could plug into and something to plug into the cable on the other side see if the cable is good or not. I have a drop line that comes down into a two 16 port hubs and the rest is networked out to the rest of the building..

    Problem is its over 70-100 feet away on the otherside. Is there such a thing I could use?
     
  2. Supernaut

    Supernaut New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    8,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most cable testers will have a detachable loopback you connect to the far end.
     
  3. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    what would be a good tool for this I would need to purchase this today or tomorrow, prefer it today :)
     
  4. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
  5. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I called my St Louis office, but they don't have any right now.

    You can pickup at Lowes, Home Depot, or Graybar.
     
  6. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Cat cable. 32 cables coming out of the ceiling into two switches and drop boxes spanned across aprox 4300 square feet. I need to map out the existing network.
     
  7. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    you can get cheap ones for 50 bucks that tell you if it's making a connection on all 8 wires, or you can get some ridiculously expensive ones by a company called Fluke that will tell you what the resistance is, the length of the cable, etc, and they go for upwards of a couple grand.
     
  8. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Cheapo just basically going to see which cable goes to what box ie port 7 goes to workstation 25
     
  9. 95vr4

    95vr4 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Weddington, NC
    check firefold.com
     
  10. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    If you just want to map the ports, you can use this..

    Greenlee AT8L.
    http://www.mygreenlee.com/Products/...=showGreenleeProductTemplate&upc_number=08667

    It has a hub/switch blink function. Hook the tester to an RJ45 port at the workstation, then blinks the port on the hub or switch that it's connected to.

    This is the cheapest way.

    The second way is with a tone and probe kit.

    Third way is with a port mapper or certifier. These are $5k+ usually. Fluke makes one, but so does Ideal and Agilent.
     
  11. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime If Only!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    32,996
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    St. Louis
  12. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL

Share This Page