Network setup: What am I missing?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by neonwheels, Oct 24, 2004.

  1. neonwheels

    neonwheels New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    107,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Aight, I setup the network in my apartment a while back. 2 desktops and a laptop will be connected to it. It worked fine for a while, and then one day my laptop couldn't connect to the other shared files on the network but the laptop can connect and access the internet connection just fine. I can also wire the laptop into the router and the shared files on the network show up, once I switch to a wireless connection they disappear... What am I missing? Is it a router option, firewall option, etc??

    Rundown of what I have:
    Netgear 54g wireless router
    1 Desktop running XP Home SP2
    1 Desktop running XP Pro SP2
    1 Laptop running XP Pro SP2
     
  2. beave

    beave Housin Beers & Buildin Dams

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    mean streets of NJ
    did u change workgroups?
     
  3. Gaylord Focker

    Gaylord Focker 8=oOOo=D ~ ~ ~

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    6,053
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    -> . <-
    sure you're not picking up someone else's wireless network?
     
  4. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,349
    Likes Received:
    249
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    welcome to wireless.
     
  5. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    That would be my best guess.
     
  6. stillspiraling

    stillspiraling Would you like some making fuck, BERSERKER

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    in a dream within a dream?
    log in to the router and check??? also check your sp2 security settings - it applies firewall settings to wireless as well....
     
  7. neonwheels

    neonwheels New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    107,424
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    Nope, it's my network, uses my WEP 128 bit encryption key, I can access the router by typing in the IP for setup, and I can see myself and the two other computers logged onto the network and their given IP's... And no, the workgroups are the same, I've even tried changing workgroups to see if that's the problem but that's not it.

    This is all kind of ironic to me since I am in the IT field and work on computers and networks everyday and yet I can't fix my own... Doesn't sound good, but I've tried everything that I know how.

    Also, what kind of firewall settings should I be aware of to change? I doubt that's it anymore, since I just tried it without the firewall on at all, but just in case.
     

Share This Page