Network Problem... v.HELP! PLEASE lc

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Aries240SS, Feb 26, 2006.

  1. Aries240SS

    Aries240SS Slow Nissan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ok, so I set up a network for my dad to link 2 PC's and 2 Laptops to share printers and files. Well, this was back at the beginning of December.

    Yesterday he tells me that the other computers can't see the network. Ok, so I go and check the other computers, sure enough, they can't get to the printers or eachother. Now I'm confused. I've gon through the settings on each machine, and they are all part of the same workgroup with file and printer sharing enabled. But none of them can see out to the network. I'm beginning to suspect the router that they are connected through. it is a D-Link with a wireless connection. Not the 108, but the slower one.

    Any sugestions if the router tests good?
     
  2. daviid

    daviid cell tower tech

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Concord, NC
    is there any firewall programs on the computers. my stepmother had nortons on hers and we couldnt see her computer on the network at all, nor could she see us.
     
  3. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    sp2 installed? windows "security center" :mamoru: and "firewall" :mamoru: enabled? disabled 'em
     
  4. Aries240SS

    Aries240SS Slow Nissan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    SP2 is installed. the windows firewall is turned off.
     
  5. daviid

    daviid cell tower tech

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,628
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Concord, NC
    anyother firewalls? i know norton and mcafe both with firewalls as part of their antivirus package
     
  6. U Think U Know

    U Think U Know OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    Messages:
    944
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mercer Island, WA
    Make sure they can all ping each other first. Next go to the computers that are hooked up to the shared printers and see if the printer availability was messed with. Printers and Faxes > Right-Click on appropriate printer > Properties > Advanced tab.
     
  7. Aries240SS

    Aries240SS Slow Nissan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    All of the computers are on the internet.
    I will look thismorning to see if someone has added the firewall to McAfee.
    I will also check to see if they are pinging eachother by IP.
    Windows uses Computer name to call them in Network Neightborhood IIRC.
     
  8. wparsons

    wparsons New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you can't find them in the network neighbourhood, but can ping them, just type '//*computername*' in an explorer window(IE or windows explorer works just fine) and see if it finds the computer.
     

Share This Page