Network problem; connection dies after 30 seconds.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Moloko, Jan 28, 2005.

  1. Moloko

    Moloko New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    12,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Slatington PA
    I got my computer back and running thanks to some new ram. Now I have a new problem. As soon as the computer starts, I have net as usual, but only for about 30 seconds. After the 30 seconds I can make no new connections. What is wierd is that AIM will stay open, and I can have conversations on that no problem. Basicly any connections made within 30 seconds of windows starting will stay open, but after that I basicly have no net. Restarting it will fix it. Windows shows an active network connection, and it says nothing is wrong with it. It did this with the old mainboard and the new one, both of which had onboard lan cards. I reformatted and reinstalled windows again last night and it didnt help. It works for the first few restards of configuring windows, but after that it goes back to its 30 second limit.

    Here are my specs;

    Athlon 3200+ XP
    Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe mainboard
    1 gig (two sticks) crucial 400fsb ram
    Nvidia Gf4 MX5200 vid card
    Creative Audigy2 ZS platnum
    Two Seagate 80gig SATA drives
    ATI TV Card
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    What are your network specs??

    If you reformatted and still have the same problem, it may be in the network hardware/
     
  3. 2demon5

    2demon5 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, FL
    Are you running the most current detonator drivers, and have you tried to use the gigabit card instead?

    Try disabling the 10/100 in the net connect manager, and use the gigabit card and see if that helps?
     
  4. Alt+F4

    Alt+F4 official OT hockey stud

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    3,790
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    What do you mean when you say "no new connections?" I find a lot of people equate getting to a website with having net connectivity. That's not exactly true. Forgive me if your computer skills make this a moot point.
     
  5. Moloko

    Moloko New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    12,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Slatington PA
    Its not just websites. NOTHING concerning the internet will load after 30 seconds. Cant get email, cant log onto AIM if im not already logged on, cant do anything. It doesnt even try to connect in IE, as soon as you open the window it instantly goes to a DNS error screen. I can refresh the connection and nothing helps. Both devices, the 100 and the gigbit have the same results, i've even bridged them and had both going. Its not the port in the wall because I've gone on my roommates computer and his net works fine, and even used his port from across the room. Same result. The network is a school network; thats all I know.
     
  6. Moloko

    Moloko New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    12,469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Slatington PA
    bump for help
     

Share This Page