Network Printer servers? What should I get.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by eddefy, Feb 14, 2009.

1. eddefy

eddefy New Member

We have like 4 computers to the house and like one printer, and I don't want to run to my computer with a flash drive, start up the computer, then start up Word and print every time.

I want something easy to use and easy to install and fool proof and i have no prior experience with something like this.

I was wondering if this is a good buy http://www.gearxs.com/gearxs/product_info.php?products_id=4909

tell me somethings I should look out for. thanks. :bigthumb:

2. retorq

retorq What up bitch??

I've never used a Netgear one but they are all basically the same. Lpt out, network in, simple http interface to configure them. The HP ones we run at work are $$$.

3. Coottie

Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

Do you have a wireless network? If so, look for a wireless printer.

I just picked up a Lexmark wireless printer, scanner, copy machine and fax...all in one for a little over $100 at Walmart. It's up and running and I just printed wirelessly from my laptop.

Don't know what your budget is but if your due for a printer upgrade, there are some great deals out there. Mine will prolly crap out in 6 months but for now, I'm happy with it.

4. Peyomp

Peyomp New Member

Never, ever, ever, ever, ever buy a non-network printer in the first place. They are all shit. Get an ethernet or wifi printer.

5. dorkultra

dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

i have a printer connected to one of my computers, i just use printer sharing. :dunno:

6. retorq

retorq What up bitch??

didn't you just hear peyomp?? It's shit. :rofl:

7. Hate Crime

Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

Only buy printers using PCL.

Cuts 90% of anything you buy at retailers out of the possibilities.

8. cmsurfer

cmsurfer ºllllllº