network external drive and printer?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Pineapple Devil, Nov 13, 2007.

  1. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,752
    Likes Received:
    8
    ok say i want to put my external hd and printer on the network somehow so i can access them wirelessly instead of having them plugged into my powerbook. how do i go about doing that?

    my reason is so that i will have access to them if i want to go into the living room and take my laptop with me but still have access to everything. right now ive got a linksys modem and B router
     
  2. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    if your router has a USB slot just plug it into there and it should work from any computer on the network. if it doesnt have a usb plug, i dont know of anyway to do this.
     
  3. Pineapple Devil

    Pineapple Devil beat it!

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    53,752
    Likes Received:
    8
    :sad2: nope, not one
    its a linksys befw1154
     
  4. xioix

    xioix OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    28,510
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    So Cal (626)
    In for answer
     
  5. SuperCzar

    SuperCzar Mac Crew, DSLR Crew

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SLO, CA, USA
    buy an old sawtooth g4 or something and put it in a closet somewhere, then configure printer and file sharing, or build a cheapo ubuntu box and share from there.

    Either method is much more capable than router sharing, and the sawtooth method is just as easy.
     
  6. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I use an airport extreme to share my external over the network
     
  7. kamikaze

    kamikaze Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    33,629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Barrie Ontario
  8. doublemeat

    doublemeat New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    14,524
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inside Loop 410
    I set up my printer wirelessly with the Airport Extreme stuff. There's also documentation on how to set up a wirelessly shared HD too.
     
  9. Ricky

    Ricky █▄ █▄█ █▄ ▀█▄

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    38,767
    Likes Received:
    6
    from windows, just right click on the drive, and go to sharing.

    set it all up from there like the name and stuff.

    then on your mac, just go to "Go" then Network and see if it's there. Make sure you have all the computers in the same workgroup. By default it should most likely be "WORKGROUP".

    Also try going to "Go" then connect to server. enter in smb://YOURWINDOWSIPTHATHASTHESHAREDSHITHERE

    Do the same thing for the printer.

    From windows go to Start > Control panel > printers
    right click on the printer and share it.
     
  10. mojito

    mojito New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    62,877
    Likes Received:
    0
    i can't get either of my printers to work on the airport extreme, it sees them but gives an error when printing. The eternal HD I tired was hit or miss too
     
  11. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    me2
     
  12. hellsspawn

    hellsspawn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    0
    me 3
     
  13. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    i wish i had airtunes for airport extreme. :mad:
     

Share This Page