Network connection priorities

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by nLinked, Aug 28, 2007.

  1. nLinked

    nLinked New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    How can I tell Vista that if I have 2 types of network connections connected at the same time (Ethernet and WiFi), I want one of them to take priority automatically for everything (mainly accessing shares on another computer).

    I want it to be able to do this without me having to go and disable the other network connection. I want the Ethernet (wired) connection to always automatically take priority over the wireless connection.
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    set the priority metric?
     
  3. nLinked

    nLinked New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read up on that before but found it confusing. Is there a simpler way of setting it?
     
  4. midcalbrew

    midcalbrew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    2,376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MidCal
    Dunno about Vista, but in XP you went to the network connections area and there was Advanced on the menu bar, and you could change the order in there ...
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Confusing?
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    it's about the simplest thing, imo.
     
  7. nLinked

    nLinked New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just tried it, read up on it again, and it was easy!

    Last time everywhere I looked it gave me some code-like stuff, one from MSDN. I ignored it.

    Seems it was as simple as 1 and 2.
     

Share This Page