netgear router issues

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by jdog12, Jun 28, 2005.

  1. jdog12

    jdog12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    every once in a while i will loose my wireless connection on both computers. then i will come downstairs and look at my router (netgear wgt624 108mbps router) and the wireless led will be shut off(not blinking like normal) and the power led will be amber instead of green. then i usually have to reset it or cut the power and turn it back on and it will fix itself. anyone know what could be gong on?
     
  2. rsxm5

    rsxm5 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I had something similar on a wired router. Send it back and get a replacement.
     
  3. stoliohranj

    stoliohranj beautiful fucking tits man

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    10,097
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    blitzburgh
    where is jollyogre's sack riding when we need it?
     
  4. Capa

    Capa New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    my linksys wireless router seems to loose connectivity alot and come back so idk if wireless is having this problem or they are just bad wireless routers.....
     
  5. jdog12

    jdog12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    a amber powerlight has to mean something.. i tried searching around and cant find much.
     
  6. jdog12

    jdog12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    router has been good to me so far except for this.
     
  7. unrealii

    unrealii professor of plant biology

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So CALI
    I have that router (version 2). Sometimes it reboots on me when it gets hot. Now I use it as a switch and access point and it still reboots on me. I'd send it back...these things are crap.
     
  8. jdog12

    jdog12 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am thinking that it has only happened while the computers that are hooked up wirelessly are turned off. while they are on it wont do this.. also im thinking but im not sure this started when i switched it to 108mbps mode which uses channel 6.... and according to one of my computers.. there are 5 other wireless AP's witin range that use channel 6, so this could have something to do with it. im going to try both before i call netgear and ask what is up. IBoffshoretechsupport.
     
  9. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    He would probably say that Netgear is crap and then proceed to call the original poster a dumbass :rolleyes:
     
  10. Keyzs

    Keyzs OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, MI
    You power supply is bad. If its still in warranty contact Netgrear and get a new one. If its out of warranty, go buy a Linksys, Dlink, or anything else.
     

Share This Page