A&P Need to upgrade my PC

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by HighTachPres, Feb 8, 2010.

  1. HighTachPres

    HighTachPres New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Now that i'm going 100% freelance, I'm going to be using my computer MUCH MUCH more, and it needs an upgrade :bigthumb:
    I'd rather go with a brand new Mac Pro, but I think a $500 upgrade or so will make my PC scream.

    Currently:
    DELL XPS720
    Vista 32-bit
    Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.4ghz
    4GB RAM
    2x NVIDIA GeForce 8600 GTS
    500GB internal harddrive (dunno the stats on it)

    From what I've researched I can benefit the most from:
    Windows 7
    More RAM
    Solid State internal hard drive for my main programs (photoshop, InDesign, illustrator, Bridge, etc)

    Any help greatly appreciated :x:


    EDIT (pg4):
    Thanks for the help OT!
    MicroCenter is aweseome :bowdown:
    Awesome customer service, and explained things very well to me. If you're ever at the Orange County MicroCenter in Tustin, CA, see Avi.

    Rate my build :noes:
    [​IMG]

    $105 - Antec case
    $115 - Corsair 750W Power Supply
    $152 - BFG Tech GTX260 896MB Maxcore 55
    $25 - Sony DVD 24x
    $340 - OCZ 12GB DDR3 RAM
    $80 - WD Black 750GB
    $260 - Patriot 64GB TORQX SSD
    $140 - Windows 7 Pro
    $200 - Intel i7 2.66ghz
    $200 - EVGA X58 SLI LE Motherboard

    $1617

    ...now someone please help me piece it together and set it up :rofl:
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2010
  2. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Guest

    build a core i7 hackintosh
    best of both worlds

    ssd will help load times, but im not sure if it's really worth the extra expense??
     
  3. HighTachPres

    HighTachPres New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    sounds expensive :eek3:
    i think i may just go by Micro Center here in socal and get their recommendation, and buy parts pronto!
     
  4. HighTachPres

    HighTachPres New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    and holy fuck! 142,449 posts!!!
     
  5. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Guest

  6. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    f the hackintosh.

    build an i7 windows 7 machine with 16+gb of ram and a decent video card.

    solid state is pretty awesome, but it's really a waste of money, unless you need those precious seconds... For the same $$, you can more than double your space, or go to a raid backup system, and not have to worry at all about losing data. I'd rather be safe with my photos than .3 seconds faster...
     
  7. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Guest

    fuck windows :o
     
  8. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    You can build a ridiculous i7 PC with Win7 (either legit or not) for the money you'd spend on a mac pro. Windows is pretty awesome now with Win7, so unless you really wanted a mac that's a nice cheaper alternative.
     
  9. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    Windows 7 is great, bro.
     
  10. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    fuck Apple. :o

    Fucking piece of shit company out to sell apps. They're the new fucking Microsoft. Stop drinking the Kool-Aid.


    I dual boot on a Mac Pro Quad Core right now. Windows 7 > OSx.

    fucking truth.
     
  11. HighTachPres

    HighTachPres New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Looks like the route I wanna go... SOOOO it looks like my list is modified to:
    i7 processor
    Windows 7
    12 more gigs or RAM :naughty:
    new video card
     
  12. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    sounds like a plan! Add a 2TB backup drive in there, and you're set.
     
  13. HighTachPres

    HighTachPres New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    i LOVE macs.
    I used a Mac Pro at my job as Art Director at Import Tuner, and over my 3.5yrs there, I had to restart it MAYBE 3x, and it opened everything in a flash :bowdown: CHAMP!

    But I already have a decent PC, and i feel that $500-$600 will bring it up to par. Besides I hear great things about Windows 7 :shrugs:
     
  14. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Guest

    12 gigs :eek5:

    does photoshop/lightroom/etc take advantage of a better video card?
     
  15. HighTachPres

    HighTachPres New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    I forgot to mention I just got the LaCie 1TB for backup :)
    Sucks that the NTFS doesn't work with apple :hs:
     
  16. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55

    CS4 only functions in 64bit mode in WINDOWS. NOT ON MAC. Just sayin. :wavey:

    And yes, CS4 also uses Open GL to access the video card memory, so it will definitely see the upgraded video card.

    Here's more details, and a list of cards that use Open GL functionality:

    http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/404/kb404898.html
     
  17. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Guest

    my mac is only 32 bit anyway :hs:
     
  18. jared_IRL

    jared_IRL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    17,737
    Likes Received:
    55
    seeing this makes me sad.

    [​IMG]
     
  19. HighTachPres

    HighTachPres New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Thanks for the halp... now I just hope these things are easy to install
     
  20. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Guest

    fuck i just noticed mine only gives me 3gb as well :rofl:
     
  21. HighTachPres

    HighTachPres New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    3,072 available ram on a 16gb system? is that what i'm supposed to see?
     
  22. Bob Loblaw

    Bob Loblaw Guest

    yeah, 32 bit only allows 3gb i think


    you can force boot osx to 64 bit though
     
  23. HighTachPres

    HighTachPres New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    If the 32bit photoshop on the mac at work can perform even faster, then i'd be in heaven :bowdown:
     
  24. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    wrong. sorry but the i7 won't work on LGA775 motherboards. you'll need a new motherboard.
     
  25. HighTachPres

    HighTachPres New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    so basically a whole new computer :eek3:
    only thing i have that i should keep is my box :rofl:
     

Share This Page