need to test my web application on a cluster/load balanced environment

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by hsmith, Jun 26, 2006.

  1. hsmith

    hsmith OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    124,562
    Likes Received:
    650
    Location:
    Your mother.
    not that i need to do load balancing yet, but i need to make sure everything is working correctly.

    would rigging up a few old desktops with Win2K3 Server suffice to build the "distributed" environment?

    caching is the biggest worry that i have that something may break when i drop it onto a distributed environment.
     
  2. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    For testing sure. You could also virtualize the test environment.
     
  3. hsmith

    hsmith OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    124,562
    Likes Received:
    650
    Location:
    Your mother.
    i thought about that as well, would VM's suffice to ensure everything is working correctly?

    i mean i don't need to really stress test, just make sure shit works correctly
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    if you're not stress testing, and just doing a "big-hole" test, then yes, it'll work. However, you would never be able to actually test the system under load in that manner.
     
  5. hsmith

    hsmith OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    124,562
    Likes Received:
    650
    Location:
    Your mother.
    well i understand it isn't stress testing it under a load balanced environment, i am more worried that all components work when it falls into a distributed system so i don't have to make hacks when i do need to scale.

    i'll cross the bridge of stress testing the distributed environment when i can afford test servers :o
     
  6. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Yes. Added bonus you have a little more control over the networking since you can seutp virtual switches to mirror production.
     
  7. hsmith

    hsmith OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    124,562
    Likes Received:
    650
    Location:
    Your mother.
    less stuff to buy :o
     
  8. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    Yep. Like Jolly said you can't really stress test it (well you can as long as you know for certain that it will scale linearly and you have a multi-proc VM host machine) but you can test your load balancing.

    There is a reason everyone loves VMWare right now ;) It's one of the few products that acutally lives up to the hype and make life easier for the people who use it.
     
  9. hsmith

    hsmith OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    124,562
    Likes Received:
    650
    Location:
    Your mother.
  10. hsmith

    hsmith OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    124,562
    Likes Received:
    650
    Location:
    Your mother.
    god i love VMWare :o
     

Share This Page