Need to link two computers via crossover

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by PeacefulAnarchy, Sep 30, 2006.

  1. PeacefulAnarchy

    PeacefulAnarchy You get one for the money, two for the show, three

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY, USA
    One is running Windows XP Home, the other is running Windows 95 OSR 2.1.

    Basically what I am aiming for is to have my Windows 95 computer linked into my main machine so I can surf the net on it. I use my Windows 95 machine for DOS games.

    I made a crossover cable in my networking class to link the two machines together, and it also tested good with a tester.

    I don't want to spend $50 on a Ethernet 802.11B adapter, I'd much rather do this.

    What settings in Windows would I need to achieve this?
     
  2. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    internet connection sharing on the win xp machine.

    i'm guessing your using dialup or you have broadband with a second nic...well, then again you could be using broadband with usb

    windows 95? it still works? i'd at least step it up to windows 98 for compatibility reasons (you probably can't even get an updated internet browser for 95 , does flash even work on it?)
     
  3. PeacefulAnarchy

    PeacefulAnarchy You get one for the money, two for the show, three

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY, USA
    It's running Windows 95 because I enjoy that OS more and feel it is more stable.

    I only use it for playing DOS and Windows 95 games.
     
  4. Xyroquell

    Xyroquell New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need something to forward internet traffic to that machine. Luckily Microsoft equiped XP with Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) and they were smart-enough to build a wizard around it.

    All you need is 2 diskdrives (one in either PC) and run the wizard. It will setup ICS for you and make a disk with an executable that you can use to setup the older Windows machines to use ICS.

    Unfortunately I can't give you a step-by-step solution, but you might want to check out the 'Help and Support' option in your XP-startmenu.
     
  5. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I would just buy a hub and use ICS.
     

Share This Page