need to console into other hosts

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by spoofy, Jul 12, 2004.

  1. spoofy

    spoofy Chemically Enhanced

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    5,014
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    houston
    such as a cisco router.. things of that nature.. for the time being .. ive downloaded minicom ..is there a gui program though?
     
  2. agent0068

    agent0068 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    39,833
    Likes Received:
    0
    uh, so you want a GUI for...shells?
     
  3. spoofy

    spoofy Chemically Enhanced

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    5,014
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    houston
    Ill just use minicom. Generally speaking GUi programs (like hyperterminal) are less hassle then dealing with tip,cu, or minicom.

    but to answer your question...yes.
     
  4. acabrera

    acabrera Rumors of my death have been greatly exaggerated.

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    50,277
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Miami Beach, FL
    Terminal?

    Can you just telnet into those things
     
  5. acabrera

    acabrera Rumors of my death have been greatly exaggerated.

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    50,277
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Miami Beach, FL
    Oh wait, you're the guy who just got the powerbook.

    /Application/Utilities/Terminal, basic unix shell
     
  6. diranged

    diranged New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    ... This brings up an interesting question -- how the hell do you physically connect to the serial port? I have been wanting to do this with my Mac laptops for YEARS. I always have to find someone with a PC laptop I can borrow.
     
  7. agent0068

    agent0068 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    39,833
    Likes Received:
    0
    huh?

    are you talking about a newer laptop or older models? because the newer models have usb, firewire, etc....but not serial

    perhaps there's a converter for whatever you need
     
  8. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  9. diranged

    diranged New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Likes Received:
    0
    I knew about USB->Serial converters, but didnt know you could use them for this particular function. Damn, I will have to get one!
     

Share This Page