Need some help with an amp

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SixFour, Sep 12, 2007.

  1. SixFour

    SixFour Get on your knees and smile like a doughnut! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    /home/sixfour
    I recently installed a line converter i bought from a local audio shop. amp and speakers work fine, i took them out of my other car. when i hook everything up I'm getting 28 ohms output from my amp. is this normal?
     
  2. GammaRadiation

    GammaRadiation Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    29,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Random Location.FL
    How does an amp put out ohms?
     
  3. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    i wondered that too.
     
  4. SixFour

    SixFour Get on your knees and smile like a doughnut! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    /home/sixfour
    ok i didn't word that right. when i test ohms on the output it's reading 28 ohms
     
  5. kwhitelaw

    kwhitelaw OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    22,870
    Likes Received:
    116
    Location:
    virginia
    are you not getting sound out of the amp? just grab another speaker/sub and make sure its not that first. still not working? go to radioshack and get an amplified speaker for $15. plug rca into that and turn on. if sound, amp bad. no sound, bad LOC or output from deck.done
     
  6. GammaRadiation

    GammaRadiation Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    29,840
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Random Location.FL
    So your speaker is 28ohms? Either you have a bad connection or it is probably on its way out the door. IE the coil over heated.
     

Share This Page