GUN Need some advice from the WMD crew v.AR15 in 6.8mm

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Ranger-AO, May 29, 2008.

1. Ranger-AO

Ranger-AO I'm here for the Taliban party. Moderator

disclaimer: I'm not a gun expert, which is why I'm here. :hsugh:

When I get back from my current deployment, I would like to buy an assembled AR15 in 6.8mm caliber with a quad rail and a tactical stock. I've been told that Rock River Arms puts out a good quality AR15, but I don't want to spend the ~$1000 they want for that configuration.

I'm not a budding gunsmith and don't want to assemble it from parts, although I know that would probably be the cheapest route available. Any suggestions?

2. xpinchx

xpinchx hes got a nice cock, on the thin side but its stil

Just build it, ffs. If you can put together legos you can build an AR-15.

3. bigboostdsm

bigboostdsm New Member

Hate to tell you, but with a FF quad rail in 6.8 I highly doubt you'll be able to find one less than 1k. Even the more basic 5.56 with no rails are 850ish :dunno:

4. johnson

johnson New Member

Last edited: May 29, 2008
  5. PanzerAce

PanzerAce Active Member

Any special reason why you want to go with a 6.8? You might also want to take a look at the 6.5 Grendel round, as it offers the same or better short range performance, but you also can push that round out to long range.

6. minus

minus Damn you, Damn the Broccoli, and Damn the Wright B

Can't you use a stock .223 lower for 6.8?

7. Ranger-AO

You are probably right. I regularly disassemble my M4 for cleaning, so I'm sure I could assemble one - assuming I order the correct parts, they come with all required hardware/screws/pins/etc, and they all fit together properly. My issue is that given that I'm no gun buff I would probably order incompatible pieces and end up with an expensive collection of junk. Which is why I'm here talking to you. :wiggle:

:eek3:
    Thanks for the info/links! :bigthumb: