Need new motherboard...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by negative zero, Jun 25, 2007.

  1. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    to replace my evga 680i.

    what's OT think? I'd like to have a newer board but I need this to be stable. 680i has been problematic and I'm tired of it.
     
  2. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
  3. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    very good choice, or if you want to try gigabyte, they have one with the same chipset that supports both ddr2 and ddr3 ram.
     
  4. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    which gigabyte?
     
  5. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    $150?

    I'm impressed that you can already get a P35 chipset board for that much.

    I had figured that they were going to bleed the higher end of the market before they
    offered the midrange stuff.
     
  6. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    That's the first thing I thought. I don't want to spend much more than that though. Gonna RMA my evga board and when it comes back I'm gonna sell it. not sure of the current price for a new one but I'd like to get ~150 for the one they send me.
     
  7. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
  8. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    What's the difference in the board i posted and the Deluxe version? Only differnces I see are:
    South Bridge Intel ICH9R on Deluxe, Intel ICH9 on Regular
    PCI Express x1 2 on Deluxe vs 1 on Regular
    One more internal SATA on Deluxe
    Different on board audio
    and wifi on deluxe


    Only thing I am not sure about is ICH9R vs ICH9.

    Other than that I can 't see the $75 increase being worth it.
     
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I think the R in ICH9R is for RAID.
     
  10. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    the one you posted is the "vanilla" edition.

    compared to the vanilla, the deluxe has 2 extra sata ports, extra ethernet, improved bios options, better audio codec, support for RAID 5, built-in wifi, better chipset cooling, extra cables, etc.

    all those features are worth the $75 difference to me.
    but of course, if you don't need those features, go with the vanilla edition.
     

Share This Page