Need MAJOR help - Will possibly pay

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by GuOD, Jan 30, 2005.

  1. GuOD

    GuOD mcflurry diet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    7,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    I have a panasonic sv-sd80 mp3 player and instead of playing mp3 files it converts them using real jukebox to sd audio files called XXXXXXX.SA1

    I've tried looking everywhere for an alternative way to convert mp3s to SA1 but I can't find anything.

    If anyone knows of a file converter that would allow me to convert to that version of Sd audio it would be great because I hate using real jukebox.


    here's the $$ part - If there's no such converter, I would pay someone to get the encoder or whatever is needed out of the real jukebox software and make it an encoder (I don't know how difficlt this is)

    Of course it'd be best if there's already one out there! Any help is GREATLY appreciated!
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Are you sure it's just the conversion or does it also need to index them? In other words, if you just replace the SA1 files, does everything still work and function?
     
  3. GuOD

    GuOD mcflurry diet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    7,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    I'm not sure. I've never tried but it does index them and rename them and it makes a playlist file as well. I'll test if it works without the playlist file but I just hate installing real jukebox and unless I buy the new version I can't encode at highest bit rate possible which is just stupid.
     
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I know mine couldn't drag and drop without indexing, then they released a firmware update to the player so now it indexes within the player. It didn't work without the software before that, even if I changed the mp3 files.
     
  5. GuOD

    GuOD mcflurry diet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    7,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    What player do you use? How can you convert to Sa1?
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    RCA Lyra - it uses MP3's not SA1. But my point was to make sure that it was a simple conversion process of the MP3.
     
  7. bluesphx

    bluesphx Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chattanooga
    Unfortunatly they sometimes encode/encrypt the files as they go onto the player. This makes it hard to just convert the files. Good luck.
     
  8. vwgeekdotcom

    vwgeekdotcom Silver Surfer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    just try putting some mp3s on the thing, not using jukebox.
    The sv-sd80 supports the mp3 format.
    You should be able to see it as a drive when you go to my computer, it might be called
    removable disk L
    or something. delete the sd1 files in there, then copy over some mp3s
     
  9. GuOD

    GuOD mcflurry diet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    7,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    I tried deleting the index files.. there's 2 of them, one seems kinda empty (viewed with notepad) and one is larger a .TKM file I believe. When these are deleted I get the error "NOT SD AUDIO" so I guess it does have to make this list.

    Does that mean there will not be a way to do it without realplayer?
     
  10. vwgeekdotcom

    vwgeekdotcom Silver Surfer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    i'd read the manual, because that thing is supposed to support aac and mp3
     
  11. GuOD

    GuOD mcflurry diet

    Joined:
    May 19, 2003
    Messages:
    7,366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    Sorry forgot to respond. It lies.

    It supports mp3 and aac but they must still be converted to SD Audio to work. It's pretty stupid.
     

Share This Page