Need help with Wireless PCI Card/Network Neighborhood

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Renegade, Sep 5, 2003.

  1. Renegade

    Renegade New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    0
    just got the G router working upstairs, downstairs the wireless pci card utility shows a connection and all, but it just wont connect online to any websites. I went into network neighborhood and i tried to add microsoft networks, and it says it added and needs to be restarted, but then it doesnt end up stickin in network neighborhood when I restart, so i cant get online!
     
  2. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Brand of router?
    Did you put all the right information about your internet connection into the router?
    Can you get to your router's on-board menu?
    Does the Cable/DSL modem show a connection?
    You have the Router's IP set as your Gateway? or are the DHCP assigned values correct?
     
  3. Renegade

    Renegade New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brand of router? Netgear
    Did you put all the right information about your internet connection into the router? Yes and so did adelphia when they set me up.
    Can you get to your router's on-board menu? yes
    Does the Cable/DSL modem show a connection? yes
    You have the Router's IP set as your Gateway? or are the DHCP assigned values correct? not set as gatway


    The upstairs desktop with the router works online, the desktop downstairs with the wireless PCI shows a connection to the netgear router, but i can not get online
     
  4. Zourn

    Zourn 16-bit Ninja OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    what is your gateway?
     
  5. Renegade

    Renegade New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    824
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went over it with netgear last night, but had to reformat today so this is what i need,

    The values for the TCP/IP...of subnet mask, ip address, dns, and gateway.
     
  6. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Call your ISP to find these out.
     

Share This Page