Need help with something on configuring a VB forum...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Accord, Nov 4, 2004.

  1. Accord

    Accord New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    10,869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I'm an admin on a forum running vBulletin 3.0 and i'm trying to figure out how to make it so everyones post count does not show up in the postbit under their avatars on threads and whatnot?

    Where in the VB admin panel can I make this change?

    Thanks
     
  2. mtellin

    mtellin The sea was angry that day my friends......like an

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    postbit template
     
  3. Accord

    Accord New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    10,869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I just edited it and removed the following line of code yet post counts still show up?

    <if condition="$show['postcount']">#<a href="showpost.php?$session[sessionurl]p=$post[postid]&amp;postcount=$post[postcount]" target="new"><strong>$post[postcount]</strong></a></if>

    What else do I need to edit?
     
  4. IAMwhitey

    IAMwhitey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    like it was said before, you just remove that variable from being displayed in that template. I can't remember off the top of my head but i believe it is the postbit template
     
  5. IAMwhitey

    IAMwhitey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    here is the default

    Code:
    <if condition="$show['postcount']">#<a href="showpost.php?$session
    [sessionurl]p=$post[postid]&amp;postcount=$post[postcount]" 
    target="new"><strong>$post[postcount]</strong></a> &nbsp;</if>
    
    make it look like this
    Code:
    <if condition="$show['postcount']">#<a href="showpost.php?$session
    [sessionurl]p=$post[postid]&amp;postcount=$post[postcount]" 
    target="new"><strong><!-- $post[postcount] --></strong></a> &nbsp;</if>
    
    that should do it for ya
     
  6. IAMwhitey

    IAMwhitey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    btw they will still be able to view the post count in their profiles
     
  7. Accord

    Accord New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    10,869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I made the change exactly how you said to but for some reason post counts still show up. Do I have to run a scheduled maintenance or something before the changes actually take effect or?
     
  8. IAMwhitey

    IAMwhitey New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    hmm.... sorry, i figured that would work. i never did it to my board but i did it to one a vb2


    just go to www.vbulletin.com or www.vbulletin.org and ask the forums there
     

Share This Page