Need help with server purchase

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by deesee22, Aug 26, 2009.

  1. deesee22

    deesee22 Habs Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    13,626
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Canada
    We are currently running a ~10 year old server that is using Server 2000. Lets just say its in dire need of an upgrade. My boss wants me to price out a server.

    What I was thinking was:

    Dell Poweredge T300
    8GB RAM
    3 X 250GB Hot-Plug RAID5
    Dual Powersupply
    Xeon 2.5ghz processor
    Windows Server 2008

    Used for file sharing, and for hosting a couple server-based applications for 30 user. Wont be doing any virtualization or anything like that.

    Overkill?
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    All depends on the server app, but it's probably fine.
     
  3. cafcwest

    cafcwest Plutonium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,957
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    VA
    3 drives on RAID 5 leaves you no redundancy.
     
  4. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,488
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ca
    what do you mean?
     
  5. deesee22

    deesee22 Habs Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    13,626
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Canada
    There would obviously be nightly backups as well....

    I was under the impression with a RAID5 if one drive dies, the array will still be intact and the dead drive could be swapped.

    What do you better suggest? add a 4th hard drive and have 2 RAID1 configurations?
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Well RAID5+Hot Spare would work. But yes, RAID 5 is redundant to one drive failure. The hot spare is nice since it would rebuild the array right away - you're not in any danger of losing another drive between RMAing/replacing the failed drive.

    My favorite config is RAID 1 OS, RAID 5 Data, but it really depends on your needs.
     
  7. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,488
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ca
    You are right. I was trying to be diplomatic in asking wtf the other guy was talking about.

    RAID5 is fine, especially if you need the capacity.
     
  8. deesee22

    deesee22 Habs Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    13,626
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Canada
    I was thinking about that too, but my Dell rep tells me that the Hot Spare option is not available on the T300
     
  9. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    :uh: Dell. Well only you can decide what down time is worth - if you're that worried, you can buy another HD and shelf it until you need it.
     
  10. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,488
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ca
    They won't configure it that way maybe, but the controller will support it.

    You would have to either buy a 4th drive separately or re-configure the array after you got the server. If you're buying it with an OS getting a 4th drive separately would be a lot easier.
     
  11. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,488
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ca
    I like that RAID setup as well, the server he's looking at only holds 4 drives though.
     

Share This Page