Need help with programming stuff for a TI-89...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by niquesuave06, Mar 19, 2010.

1. niquesuave06

niquesuave06 New Member

I'm needing to figure out how the hell I can program some functional, fairly basic programs for my TI-89 but I have no idea where to start. I know a bit of programming, but they've been fairly "isolated" courses in the sense that they were both in a version of VB (the version I used was in like 2002, I think it was pre .net? and VBA in Office 2007, currently taking a class on it that's oriented toward my engineering degree). I'm not trying to claim that I'm a good programmer, but I've excelled in both courses so at least I have some idea of whats going on.

I don't even know the first place to start on a pursuit like this. Could any of you possibly enlighten me?

If someone here knows what they're doing and wants to help, I'd probably be willing to compensate you. Just send a pm and we'll talk.

And for the record, these programs are going to be used legitimately to store data in my calculator for a couple of my senior engineering classes. Most of my professors still deem any kind of paper notes during an exam as cheating, but a lot of them have begun allowing whatever we choose and are able to put into our calculator. I think they've realized they can't stop it, so they just gave in :mamoru:

Thanks for any assistance :wavey:

2. CodeX

CodeX Guest

It's a custom form of the basic language, your first step should be to find the instruction set reference.

3. niquesuave06

niquesuave06 New Member

Would the instruction set reference be something found in the user manual that came with the calc, or will I need to look elsewhere for that? :hsd: sorry for my ignorance, most of the material I've needed thus far has basically been handed to me.

4. thekraft

thekraft New Member

iirc, it's in the manual, but I don't know if it's all inclusive.

5. CodeX

CodeX Guest