Need Help with PHPBB 2

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Mycophiles, Feb 23, 2003.

1. Mycophiles

Mycophiles OT Supporter

I just made a forum for my sister and her friends and my sister doesnt like the phpbb link at the top. http://mycophiles.rustika-imports.com and I would like to replace it. Does anyone know how to get this replaced. Also I wanted to know postnuke's size. I would love to use one of thier php scrips but I think they are way too big for my 20megs of alocated space. Im trying to keep the forum as small as I can. I would also like a diff. color on the forum. Im a noob w/ this with just a tiny bit of shell use so this is going to be a little harder for me than for most of you. :)

Any help would be appreciated.

I went to www.phpbb.com and www.phpbbhacks.com and I see some things I'd like to install but I dont know how to do it in shell. doh... anyone know how to do this. uncompress a tar(?) in linex and then delete rn and replace files?

2. SmAssher

SmAssher Umm....Mooo?

Most of the stuff you want to do requires FTP access, not shell access.

I'm assuming that you want to get rid of the logo at the top? Go into the template files, in this case you are using subSilver, and edit the overall_header.tpl file. This file is in HTML so it should be that hard to edit if you know HTML. Simply reupload this and whatever changed will be at the top now.

With 20mb you can use postnuke. It is like 5mb. Post nuke isn't really for forums... Post Nuke is a web content management system that lets you write articles and news on your site without having to change an HTML file and reupload it. Postnuke wrote these scripts so that you don't have to go and write you own. If you want a portal system for your forum (combines your forum and content management system together i.e. - same usernames/passwords and such) then you can find those at phbbhacks. A similar system to postnuke is PHP nuke www.phpnuke.org.