Need help with new computers I built

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DaninTexas, Jun 12, 2007.

  1. DaninTexas

    DaninTexas OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Built a couple of new systems for me and the wife. I am thinking power supply isn't cutting it. Basically when I turn on the machines for the first time in the day it powers on - but no display. Windows doesn't load mind you. I leave it running in this state for a couple minutes - then cycle power and everything is fine. I can run them all day long with out any problems. Its only that first power cycle.

    The case with power supply is this:

    http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16811144118

    The video card is this:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814102075


    Its driving me nuts. But my gut feeling on both of them is the power supply isn't pushing enough for the video cards.

    If that is the case I will just keep the cases and get a new power supply. But I always bought cases with PS in them. Is a PS a PS. And if not - can someone point me to a good PS to use on new egg that won't cost me over $100.

    Any help on this would really be great as I am going slightly mad on this.

    Thanks guys
     
  2. AO

    AO New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,750
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    wyd
    A power supply is not a power supply. Anyone who built the early AMDs found that out the hard way.

    Since the video card is a ~$150 unit, the supposed 500w psu would seem to be sufficient. I would therefore first go into the BIOS and set up the S1/S3 settings, you may have hibernate on, BIOS & Videos cacheable, etc. Turn all that stuff off (on power fail do not set it to reboot.) Most probably it is the S1/S3 setting.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advanced_Configuration_and_Power_Interface
     
  3. DaninTexas

    DaninTexas OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    I will double check those settings. Thanks.

    Thing I was worried about with power supply was the amps on the 12 volt rails.
     
  4. DaninTexas

    DaninTexas OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    No dice. Same thing.

    Any other ideas? What power supplies would be good to toss in those cases?
     
  5. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    IGNORE wattage. With how manufacturers advertise, it means little. Based on that pic it looks like a shitty psu. replace with sparkle.
     
  6. DaninTexas

    DaninTexas OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,232
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Yeah I think in this case the wattage is not the issue - its the shitty amps being pushed on the 12v rails.
     

Share This Page