need help with my new linksys hub!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by andrew, Apr 2, 2003.

  1. andrew

    andrew Ramona Flowers

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    66,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I bought a LinkSys EtherFast 5-port hub and my comp went on fine, then today tried to connect my dads comp to it and it won't work. Anyone know why this would be happening?
     
  2. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Throw it away and get a switch. :)

    More details. OS's? Physical layout? Logical network layout? Workgroup or domain? Type of cable? (STR8 or X-over?)
     
  3. andrew

    andrew Ramona Flowers

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    66,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    i think i figured out the problem.

    is there a difference between a hub and a router?

    i am a n00b to networking and think i bought the wrong thing
     
  4. andrew

    andrew Ramona Flowers

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    66,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    xp home on both, i believe regulat patch cords.

    i am trying to get my dads comp to connect to the internet at the same time as mine
     
  5. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Unless you wish to dive into the world of internet connection sharing, get a router. Linksys makes the BEFSR41, which is a router with built-in 4pt switch.
     

Share This Page