Need Help w/ Universal Remote - Digital Cable

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by freshie, Oct 31, 2008.

  1. freshie

    freshie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    8,208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royersford, PA
    Hi,

    I just had to upgrade to comcast's digital cable since they moved half my channels off of the basic i was paying for.

    Upon receiver my digital box and remote, i tried using the codes provided but could not get my olevia 42" and the digital cable remote to connect.

    Does anyone know a universal remote i could use that will work with both? but not trying to spend an assload, if i have to use 2 remotes like i currently am and saving $90 bucks that is fine with me.
     
  2. amill94

    amill94 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    31,071
    Likes Received:
    317
    did you call comcast and ask if they have any codes for olevia tvs? The books are old and only updated every year or so.
     
  3. gthesob

    gthesob the fun machine took a shit and died OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    11,964
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    SoCal
    Once you try an event based remote like the Logitech Harmony line you won't want to go back to the old ones. The cheap ones start at about $50 I think.
     
  4. RyeLou

    RyeLou OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit-ish
  5. freshie

    freshie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    8,208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royersford, PA
    i've been looking at a few of the logitech harmony remotes.

    can't decide which model to go with. the 520, 670, 676 or 720
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2008
  6. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. RyeLou

    RyeLou OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5,065
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Detroit-ish
    I saw it on gizmodo.com or whatever site it is. Too good of a deal to pass up it looks like. As long as it's decent it should work just fine.
     
  8. eideteker

    eideteker Who jarked off in my frakkin' coffee? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA.
    That Philips remote looks pretty badass. I, however, have a Harmony 550 and I love it - I'll never use another "universal" remote again.
     
  9. wabash9000

    wabash9000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    get the harmony one.
     
  10. freshie

    freshie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    8,208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royersford, PA
    harmony one is so pricy, i ended up going with the harmony 676
     

Share This Page