Need help tonight v. graphics card purchase for specific computer

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by popsnbeer, Jun 19, 2009.

  1. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Okay guys...

    My dad has asked me to help him out w/ his computer yet again. He blew two graphics cards due to too much heat and dust.

    He currently runs 3 monitors. One widescreen 24" and two 4:3 19".

    Here is the computer he has: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/prodinfoCategory?lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&lang=en&product=3445434

    it is a HP Pavilion a6152n Desktop PC if that helps.

    I am not going with ATI again as I continue to have him kill them...but i don't think it has much to do with the card as it is the small room he smokes in and has lots of dust :mamoru:. Nonetheless, I need help and advice.

    He runs his own business and uses his computer mainly for the Adobe creative suite (uses photoshop, illustrator, etc.)

    No gaming at all.

    What's the difference between PCI express x16 and the new version 2.0 ??? Last time I bought there was only the regular PCI express x16.

    thanks guys. I am assuming I need two graphics cards, one will be the x16 and one needs to be the x1 because he does not have two gfx slots.


    Gotta buy this tonight.

    :x::x::x::x::x:
     
  2. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    ok... from what i see i can only find ati pcix x1 and no nvidia stuff.

    i guess i'll have to go w/ ati in order to get this computer to display 3 monitors?
     
  3. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    Any help on this guys? budget is pretty low...under $100 for each card if possible.
     
  4. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    okay here's what I found. ATI x4850x2 quad. It's $219 at newegg.

    I am thinking I will need a new power supply? right now the computer has a 300 watt in it. What's the cheapest power supply I can get to make this thing work?

    here's the link to the card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102813
     
  5. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    oh...and from the reviews, this thing is HUGE. Will it fit in my case? It's just a regular HP case.
     
  6. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    If his cards are dying from too much heat due to smoke or dust, I don't think getting a card that requires more power and runs hotter is going in the right direction.
     
  7. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    yeah. i understand. what options do I have though? he refuses to go away from his 3 monitors. I have tried talking him into just getting one larger single monitor and has not worked :-(
     
  8. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    that 4850 x2 won't fit

    bandwidth is doubled on PCI-E 2.0

    that HP has integrated graphics (w/ vga port). check if you can use the onboard graphics along with a graphics card.
    ** it depends on the mobo maker and the bios,... some disable onboard graphics once they detect a discrete card, some can use both.

    if not PCI-E x1,... just get a PCI card for the 2nd one
     
  9. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    it does not work :wtc: i actually found that out the hard way about a year ago on his computer.

    Are there PCI cards that have driver support for vista? last PCI card I tried in vista did not work.

    thanks for your response. here is what I am thinking I will need to buy (or something along these lines).

    HD3650 PCIx16: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102726

    with

    x1550: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161197

    will this work?
     
  10. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    that'll work.

    not sure about the 8 series, but those Nvidia 9400/9500GT PCI cards are Vista certified
    ATI sucks
     
  11. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
  12. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    okay. let me put together an nvidia setup...
     
  13. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
  14. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
  15. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    that will work too
    if he's not gaming,... PCI is just fine
     
  16. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    sweet, thanks for the advice :)

    as long as I have you, or anybody else, is there an external hard drive that I can purchase that will completely backup my computer? i.e. if my hard drive crashes, I can use the back up one to access not only the materials, but the programs and windows as well?

    thanks for all your help guys.
     
  17. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    well,.. there are external drives that comes with backup software like this one:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822204083

    or just buy a normal external and use your own separate backup software

    get eSATA if you have one. USB is slow
     
  18. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    only have USB or firewire.

    I like that fantom drive. is that a reputable brand compared to WD or Seagate?

    What are the better backup software options if I just purchased any old external hard drive?
     
  19. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    then stick to USB. search if you can find one that is USB only. those with eSATA are usually more expensive.

    fantom makes enclosures. that model uses a 1TB WD Green Drive.
    same shit

    i use Acronis True Image
     

Share This Page