need help setting up phone lines for DSL

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Seluryar, Nov 13, 2007.

  1. Seluryar

    Seluryar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,247
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    ►Akron, Ohio◄
    in an effort to cut costs and save money, i am switching back to DSL from cable
    almost the same speeds, $20 savings.

    problem is, i have to use a length of phone cord to get from the phone jack on the other side of my apartment to my bedroom, i am running 2 25 foot lengths along my walls and under my bedroom door connected by a coupler and running into a surge protector that has phone cord jacks.

    im told that there has to be a dsl filter on all the phone jacks in the apartment, i only have one, but its in the other room

    this is the way i have it so far:
    [​IMG]

    will this cause problems?

    the DSL is supposed to be activated tomorrow
     
  2. Seluryar

    Seluryar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,247
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    ►Akron, Ohio◄
    i dont know if this helps or not, but the 2 lengths of phone cord are from 2 satellite tv DVR set top boxes thingies
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    do not run a dsl modem through a surge protector for phone. and do NOT use a filter!
     
  4. ParTyBoy

    ParTyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    29,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Basin City
    :werd:

    You do NOT want to use a filter on the line running between the wall jack and the modem. The filter is only intended to be run between a phone and a wall jack (somewhere else in the house).

    The filter removes high frequency noise/crosstalk that a 2.4ghz phone may introduce into the copper in your house which may interfere with the high frequencies used by the DSL modem. So basically, if you put a filter between the modem and the wall jack you are filtering out the frequencies used by the modem.
     
  5. Seluryar

    Seluryar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,247
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    ►Akron, Ohio◄
    but the filter has a jack marked phone and one marked DSL :confused:
     
  6. DaveyD

    DaveyD Fuck Ohio State, son

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    18,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Minnesota
    Just use the one jack.
     
  7. Seluryar

    Seluryar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,247
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    ►Akron, Ohio◄
    one thing i am concerned about is the telephone cord i am using to get from my kitchen to my bedroom.

    the phone cord that came with the modem has 2 sets of numbers that match number sets on the long lengths of phone cord im using to get from kitchen to bedroom, is that a good sign? :x:
     
  8. ParTyBoy

    ParTyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    29,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Basin City
    Well, there's a problem there as well

    You should use the cord that came with the DSL modem, and the overall length of the cable between the wall jack and the modem should be no longer than 18"-24", unless you are going to run cat5e.. You should not use regular telephone cable that you can pick up at a local store. If you use regular telephone cable you are going to significantly restrict the bandwidth of the modem.

    You would be better off positioning the modem next to the wall jack, use the short cable that came with the modem.
    Then buy a wireless router, set up a Wireless Access Point (WAP) next to the modem. If you have computers in another room then you can buy a 2nd router and setup a bridge or make the 2nd route a client of the 1st router by the modem.

    That's the best way to setup if you don't want to run cat5e around the house.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2007
  9. ParTyBoy

    ParTyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    29,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Basin City
    DSL <-------------\________ Telephone
    Telephone <-------/

    If the filter is labeled, then it should be ok
    If there is no labeling on the filter, then do not use it.

    Some DSL modems in addition to the ethernet out connection also have two jacks on the back of the router, one specifically for telephone line in, one for telephone line out. If it does you don't need a splitter and can run cable straight to the modem, then from there you can run telephone cable out of the modem and to your telephone.
     
  10. Seluryar

    Seluryar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,247
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    ►Akron, Ohio◄
    my modem only has phone in, ethernet, and usb.

    what i can do is use one length of 25 foot to my bedroom, then use the coupler with the marked filter, then using the phone cord that came with the modem to the modem, its a wireless modem, i plan on having things moved around to a final configuration when i can get a PCI wifi card :x:
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    25 foot is a very long phone cord. I hope it's UTP wiring and not 4-wire.
     
  12. Seluryar

    Seluryar Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    25,247
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    ►Akron, Ohio◄
    all i know is that the filter has a 2 contact plug, but the cord that came with the modem has 4 contacts on each end
     
  13. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    that doesn't matter, You're only using the middle two wires in a single-line installation. However, it being "twisted pair" is a big deal.
     
  14. ParTyBoy

    ParTyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    29,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Basin City
    18"-24" = 18 inches to 24 inches in length (cable packaged with modem)

    You do not want to run 25' (25ft) of telephone cable for reasons stated above. (Just so P07r0457 doesn't attack me, i'm not referring to Cat3, Cat5e, etc)
     
  15. Bencorn

    Bencorn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    Why not just run the dsl to a router and run ethernet or wireless into your room and have a cordless phone?
     
  16. ParTyBoy

    ParTyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    29,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Basin City
    That would still be a messy way to handle it (long exposed run of cable), but another possibility
     
  17. Bencorn

    Bencorn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    Messier than phone lines with couplers and surge protectors?
     
  18. ParTyBoy

    ParTyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    29,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Basin City
    less messy :o
     
  19. copiertalk

    copiertalk Secure Our Borders! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    5,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    west texas
    25 foot should not be a problem.
     

Share This Page