need help regarding a box build...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by boostin-gp, Feb 19, 2004.

1. boostin-gp

boostin-gp Guest

Working for an authorized dealer definately has its benefits, but the only problem is that I have NEVER built a box before. The subs I'm probably going to be going with are 4 of the Bazooka RXT2 'bigger' triangle subs. Cone surface area is supposed to be near 12", and the new ones are aluminum cone.

I'm hoping that I can fit 4 of them across like so...

[​IMG]

I obviously suck at paint, but you get the idea.

I want to do a sealed box, and the recommended sealed enclosure volume is .7 cu. ft. My question is this... when I build the box, what would the advantages/disadvantages be to doing one large chamber, or 4 seperate .7 cu. ft. sealed chambers? Is there any difference at all? I'm going for a fairly tight and punchy sound, yet I want it to be smooth at the same time. SPL is really of no concern at this point.

Thanks in advance for any ideas for the box. Please dont reply if you're just going to rip the subs. I had the rxt1's in a previous car and loved them.

2. Dr.EtNiEs

Dr.EtNiEs Guest

Bazooka RXT2 :ugh:

3. boostin-gp

boostin-gp Guest

Thanks for the advice, prick.:rant2: If you arent going to help me with the original question, then just dont bother posting in this thread. :greddy:

4. Biomechanoid

Biomechanoid New Member

Visually, (I didn't see what vehicle this is going in, but I'm probably blind) if you have a hatchback I'd configure them into one large triangle.

as far as the enclosure is concerned, I've always been happier with the sound that came from my seperately sealed chambers (tight sound) than when I just had one large enclosure (more boomy). but... that could be due to manufacturing problems on my part.

5. flynfrog

flynfrog Cool isnt Cheap

my thoughts exactly

i hope he got the radiator with those so he can cool them :rofl:

6. elitesound

elitesound Guest