Need help finding a specific MoBo.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by coreystang, Nov 2, 2006.

  1. coreystang

    coreystang OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haughton, LA
    I am looking for a decent board that has a ISO slot. I know they are pretty out dated. I need one fast. Thanks.
     
  2. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Do you mean ISA slot?

    Good damn luck finding a mobo with that. Try eBay
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do you need this for?
     
  4. coreystang

    coreystang OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haughton, LA
    Sorry I meant ISA slot. It is for a flat scanner that we have. If we want to upgrade to a PCI card it is 3500 bucks. The pc is running NT, I am trying to get the boss to do the upgrade. Then we have to fly a guy down to re-calibrate the scanner. There is only a handfull of these scanners in the US. In all it would cost us around 5 grand. If it was up to me I would do it.
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    The scanner plugs directly into an ISA slot? :nuts:

    If it plugs into any kind of standard port, I guarantee you can find a PCI card that will give you the port you need.
     
  6. Synner

    Synner New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,461
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used to have one of those scanners, I think. The plug looks like it'd fit a printer port, but is just a little too big?

    And oddly enough, my motherboard has an ISA slot. DFI AK74-EC.
     
  7. coreystang

    coreystang OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haughton, LA
    We are going with the upgrade. The scanner is German made. They have to get the new PCI card from Germany. Thanks for the help though. I talked them into th upgrade. The scans will be 30-50% faster with the upgrade. Here is the scanner we have. It is pretty bad ass. http://www.flatbed-scanner-review.org/repro_stand_copy_stand_scanner/Cruse_repro_stand.html
     
  8. DaKoreanGuy

    DaKoreanGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^^^^ :bowdown: now thats a scanner.
     
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    You need to listen to deusexaethera.

    Somebody somewhere made a pci card with the same connector on it.





    .
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2006
  10. coreystang

    coreystang OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haughton, LA
    See above post. The card is made for that scanner. And I don't have alot of time to try out different cards. We have already been down for a week.
     
  11. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you get a chance, could you post the model number in here?

    I'd like to snoop around for curiosity's sake.
     
  12. DaveyD

    DaveyD Fuck Ohio State, son

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    18,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Minnesota
    I might have an old Mobo with an ISA slot. I can tag it along with a AMD700 CPU. Let me look, and I can let you know if you are interested.
     
  13. coreystang

    coreystang OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haughton, LA
    The model is CS 185/275 SL.
     
  14. coreystang

    coreystang OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haughton, LA
    Thanks for the offer, we went ahead with a new pc. The old one was 7 years old anyway.
     
  15. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Attaboy. ISA is so outdated it's not even funny. Glad to hear you were able to find the new card. I can't believe it could cost too much, because it's just a circuit board with a few microchips on it. A new scanner (especially like that one) would be a hefty purchase though.
     
  16. coreystang

    coreystang OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2004
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Haughton, LA
    Yes the pc was VERY outdated. With the cost for scans we charge we will make that money back in a week or two. Thanks again for the help.
     

Share This Page