SRS need help figuring out what to do next...

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by amac88, May 7, 2009.

1. amac88

amac88 New Member

A bit of background first, I started out about three years ago going to college right out of high school, majoring in journalism. After finding out that was pretty much a joke, and failing several classes anyway, I quit and moved to a new city. I started going to automotive school and within a few months I met the most wonderful girl I could ever ask for, Tiffany. She and I have been through alot, more than most couples go through their first year, but we still deeply love each other.

However, thats not what this post is about. I graduated automotive school, and managed to find a job at a Nissan dealer as a lube tech. However, like many nowadays, I was quickly let go, the reason was I "wasnt quick enough". Almost all of the technicians hated their jobs, and werent making any money. They pretty much all told me to get out of it while I could (Im 21), and find a real career. After doing some research online I found that almost everyone in the auto industry is saying this.

Ive thought about it, and decided that maybe working on cars just isnt for me. I like working on them, but at my own pace. I also had a hard time in auto school. What do you guys think? Should I look into another career? I would feel bad though that I spent $20 grand to go to school and got nothing out of it. I kinda wish I had known this before I started school, however if I had never moved, I wouldnt have met the love of my life.

I need something that has guaranteed pay, and steady hours. I cant go back to school now though, Im engaged, and wouldnt have the money anyway. Plus, Im afraid Id end up back where I was, failing classes because I found no motivation in them.

I do love history, and am pretty smart in all areas, I love playing along with quiz shows. I judt dont know what to do right now. I need some kind of job and career.

2. jim1234664