Need help, Desktop PC won't boot

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by G-man, Feb 13, 2009.

  1. G-man

    G-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,584
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    CO
    I have a tower PC i bought about 1.5 years ago. I put a bunch of new software on it and it started acting funny. Then day I went to boot it and all I get is a blinking cursor in the top of the left hand of the screen. It goes through the POST but then just stops at the cursor blinking, no error message or nothing.

    I have changed the boot order in the BIOS to try to boot from a CD or DVD and I still get stuck at the blinking cursor. I thought that maybe it was a bad hard drive and swapped it with a known working one and also even bought a new one and neither of them worked. Running out of things to try and just thought I see if anyone here has any suggestions. I guess a piece of the hardware somewher crapped out and just wondering what it might be.
     
  2. MrEous

    MrEous OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland (DFW), TX
    Can you get into Safe Mode at all? If so, start uninstalling the programs. What programs did you install, btw?...nothing 'questionable', right?

    You can try reseating your RAM...also unhook your cd/dvd drives only leaving your hdd plugged in, maybe one of your drives is creating an error

    Someone else online suggested checking your CMOS battery.
     
  3. G-man

    G-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,584
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    CO
    none of the software was questionable and they worked on other PCs. I tried reseatting the RAM and also took out the CMOS battery and put it back in after it sat out all night and still the same problem. Tried disconnecting the CD/DVD drives too and still the same problem. Also, I cannot get to safe mode either, i don't even get to the screen to pick from that menu :hs:
     
  4. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    what is this "software" you installed?
     
  5. MrEous

    MrEous OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland (DFW), TX
    Could be your motherboard...since you put in a diff HD and still got the same issue.
     
  6. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    reset cmos
     
  7. G-man

    G-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,584
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    CO
    MS Office 2007 & Photoshop CS
     
  8. G-man

    G-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,584
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    CO
    Tried that :hs:
     
  9. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Ah, i see.


    Are you able to boot to a CD? Like an XP CD?
     
  10. G-man

    G-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,584
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    CO

    no, tried my XP cd and even made a couple of boot cd's and nothing worked
     
  11. dave5678

    dave5678 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Last time I've come across this problem I had the co-worker buy a new motherboard. That fixed the problem. No matter what I did before the new motherboard though could not get the computer to boot.
     
  12. G-man

    G-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2001
    Messages:
    17,584
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    CO
    I was hoping that it wouldn't come to that but it looks like I'm going to have to do that as nothing else seems to work :hs:
     

Share This Page