Need help designing a system for my car v.opentosuggestionsandcriticism

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by DjShiznit, Mar 12, 2007.

1. DjShiznit

DjShiznit Representing Deutschland, yah.

OK so I'd like to put a system in my car. I have past experience with car audio, built boxes, installed decks, amps, subs, wiring, etc. I'm by no means an expert, but I do have a few installs under my belt. Anyways, I'd like to put a system in my car (Audi 200). I would like to go more for SQ than SPL. I'm not too concerned with loudness, but would like a nice, natural sounding system. Here are the components that I already have:

1xSoundstream Reference 1000SX Mono Amp
    1xSoundstream Reference 604 4ch Amp
    1xPair MB Quart Discus 5.25" Seperates
    1x 1/2 Farad generic Cap
    Some 4 guage power wire and RCA's

I still need to get some 6.5" speakers for the rear deck.

I also need to replace the factory head unit. I've usually gone with Alpine in the past for head units, but all their new models only have 2V pre-outs and appear to suck ass all around. I'm considering picking up this Eclipse head unit. It has 5V outputs, supports navigation, and is iPod compatible.

I'd also like to install 2 subs into my trunk. I'd like to have seperate sealed enclosures, on each side of the pass-through port. I'm unsure as to whether or not I could build a box for 12" speakers to fit, of if I'll have to go with 10's. Here's my trunk.

[​IMG]

I also copied in various measurements.
    [​IMG]

I dunno what to use for speakers though. I was thinking maybe Boston Acoustic, or Diamond Audio. Most likely DVC's, or 2ohm speakers, if they're offered, and run off of my amp at 1ohm. Again, I'm not too concerned with SPL, but more SQ. I want a nice sounding system.

I'd also like to mount my amps and cap under my rear deck. Would that be a bad idea?

Well OT, what do ya think? Any suggestions / criticism regarding my project? Any advice would be greatly appreciated :wavey: