need help creating thumbnails and html for 200 photos

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by AJP, Mar 31, 2009.

  1. AJP

    AJP 7-1 LOL Green Gay OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    13,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Ok I have about 200 photos I want to upload to my own website, I want to create a 300pixel thumbnail of each and I want it to create html code for each picture and thumbnail automatically.

    So basically I just upload the raw images and it creates the thumbnail and generates all 200 pics with clickable thumbs in html code not bb code.
     
  2. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    a lot of php gallery scripts will include that kind of feature.. you opposed to using one? or just don't know which are awesome?
     
  3. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    I actually need to find out myself which gallery scripts are awesome :o
     
  4. AJP

    AJP 7-1 LOL Green Gay OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    13,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    I have the celerondude uploader but it wont accept a 600mb zip file, and I dont want to enter each file one by one via browse. I guess I need to add that I want to batch upload the files.

    If there is a better script out there let me have it. I just need batch upload, html, and thumbnail.
     
  5. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    hrmm maybe it supports FTP upload to an uploads folder, and then it'll process everything in the folder? I don't know if it does that or not.. just guessing

    if the celeron dude accepts zip files.. it's probably your server configuration that won't allow a 600mb file. there's a php option for maximum upload size.. it's probably set to just a few megs right now.
     
  6. wabash9000

    wabash9000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
  7. AJP

    AJP 7-1 LOL Green Gay OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    13,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Seems a little to fancy, and not exactly what I am looking for.

    The celerondude one does exactly what I want it just wont take anything over 7mb per file, even if I change it to unlimited. I am sure it is something in the server settings preventing it, but I dont know how to change it.
     
  8. lightsareout

    lightsareout New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN
    i've used jalbum before to do this
     
  9. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    add/edit a php.ini file in the main folder of the uploader directory containing:
    Code:
    upload_max_filesize=1000M
    
     
  10. AJP

    AJP 7-1 LOL Green Gay OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    13,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas

    No dice I just tried and tested with a 50mb file, it no workie.
     
  11. nicklk

    nicklk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    23,760
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Photoshop can do it.
     
  12. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    +1
     
  13. DeathClock

    DeathClock Guest

    something wrong with picasa+flickr?
     
  14. HYBR|D

    HYBR|D Beep Beeeeee'p

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ozz
    In the uploader you have to set the permissions so that the admin account does not have the same permission settings as the normal user's, it should be in the same menu that you set the users upload quota etc..

    There should be a check box that has to be unchecked..:hsd:
     
  15. AJP

    AJP 7-1 LOL Green Gay OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    Messages:
    13,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    I can load all 200 pictures in, it will upload them, make thumbnails, and generate the html code, show me how.

    Yeah I want them on my site, not theres.


    Everything is set to unlimited.
     
  16. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Photoshop can create the galleries and HTML code. All you'll have to do afterwards is to upload it to your site. It may not be exactly what you are looking for though,

    It's somewhere in the automate menu.
     

Share This Page