Need Help! AMD 64 Experts Get In Here.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by GunShow, Apr 5, 2005.

  1. GunShow

    GunShow You had best unfuck yourself

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FLA
    I just purchased and AMD 64 4000+ chip for my new gaming rig and I want to know if running 4X512mb sticks of PC3200 is going to force the mobo to run 2T timing as opposed to 1T. I know this is an issue for people with the Winchester core AMD CPU's that fill up all 4 dimms with ram, but I am curious to know if it will affect my ClawHammer series processor. Anyone know for sure?
     
  2. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    Which mobo and which chipset?
     
  3. GunShow

    GunShow You had best unfuck yourself

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FLA
    AMD Socket 939 Athlon 64 4000+, 2.4 GHz, 1MB L2
    ASUS "A8V Deluxe" VIA K8T800 Pro Chipset
     
  4. GunShow

    GunShow You had best unfuck yourself

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FLA
    Yeah, I kinda of figured that would be the case. I had just hoped that with the different architecture for the ClawHammer as opposed to the Winchester cores that AMD would have resolved the memory controller issues.
     
  5. GunShow

    GunShow You had best unfuck yourself

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FLA
    Since I already ordered the 4X512mb sticks should I run all 4 of them, or will the system perform better with 1024mb and return the other 2 sticks?
     
  6. plat

    plat New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,209
    Likes Received:
    0
    believe you will have to run 166mhz 2T with 4 sticks
     
  7. gaybutsex

    gaybutsex New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think for 95% of applications, it would perform better with <2 gigs.
     

Share This Page