Need Dual-Wan router advice

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Original Sin, Aug 31, 2008.

  1. Original Sin

    Original Sin I'm so hood.

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    17,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest
    I want to setup multiple internet connection at home. I'm looking to load balance two cable connections. I tried THIS ROUTE , but it didn't seem to work ( I actually noticed a drop in speed). I know nothing about linux, so setting up ClarkConnect or pfSense is out of the question.

    So I'm now looking into dual wan routers. Every time I find a positive review of a router, I find ten more that are negative. Anyone have any recommendations? This is just for home use (small lan, 2-3 computers).

    At this point I'm thinking of getting a hotbrick lb2.
     
  2. ittech

    ittech "If You're Not Part of the Solution, There's Good OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    18,998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sonoma, California
    we use RV042/RV016 and netgears FVS336G i think is the model.

    they are not perfect but work pretty well for the price.

    You don't want one that works perfect, it'll be over $1000
     
  3. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I've used Linksys's dual WAN routers at a few locations - seem to work fine. They've since changed models so I can't comment on any of the newer ones.
     
  4. Original Sin

    Original Sin I'm so hood.

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    17,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest
    Hmmm...This looks like a winner right here :bigthumb:
     
  5. ittech

    ittech "If You're Not Part of the Solution, There's Good OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    18,998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sonoma, California
    we used one on a directway satellite on one port and a verizon evdo router on the other port, and the SSL vpn is the only one that works worth a shit over satellite, IPSec falls apart due to technical tcp ack reasons.

    it hasn't been the most stable office but it's not due to the netgear. never had to power cycle it once, which is amazing for a netgear or really any cheap router.
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have one of those. Never have figured out how to set it up.
     
  7. Vito_Corleone

    Vito_Corleone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    29,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Cisco ASA
     

Share This Page