Need direction for "engineering" workstation

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Camp OTE, Dec 23, 2008.

  1. Camp OTE

    Camp OTE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have to build a new workstation. In the past, I just end up building gaming rigs or copying builds that I see elsewhere.

    I usually run Solidworks, some CAM programs, office, and I'm constantly creating pdfs. I have to stick with XP and 32 bit because of some of the older programs that I have to use. I use two monitors.

    The Solidworks assemblies that I work on are usually less than ten parts.

    Budget is around $1100 without the monitors.
     
  2. wabash9000

    wabash9000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    for 1100 you could get a balla system, let me run one really quick and I'll post it.
     
  3. wabash9000

    wabash9000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
  4. wabash9000

    wabash9000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    other options would be to go with and older dual core and ddr2 and then get a workstation graphics card, decent ones start at about $500
     
  5. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    A Radeon video card is not what you need for a workstation. Try a FireGL or an nVidia Quadro -- or if you're really kinky, a Matrox Parhelia.
     
  6. wabash9000

    wabash9000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    I would have put a work station card in there but for the programs he is running he would see almost no gains from the work station card. if he was doing 3d rendering maybe but for a little solid works there will be no performance difference. If there was any the much more powerful cpu would make up for the difference and then some.
     
  7. Limp_Brisket

    Limp_Brisket New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    48,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    but the main stuff it sounds like he is going to be doing is CAD design, i'm pretty sure those firegl and quadro cards are better for that kind of stuff, although i don't have a lot of experience in that area...
     
  8. Camp OTE

    Camp OTE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. That is a huge help.

    The only thing that I was wandering is if anyone on here uses a more "industrial" type case. The P182s are really nice, but my environment sucks. There is tons of dust and dirt in the building and it really builds up even in my office.
     
  9. Camp OTE

    Camp OTE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll have to look, but I'm pretty sure I read an article that says that Solidworks runs models with a lot of features using the true view to recommend video cards. I'll never need that so I won't have to worry about a workstation card, but I am going to look around a bit before I make my purchase.
     
  10. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I can tell you from experience, get the nVidia Quadro card. I have tried to use consumer cards with Solidworks and there are some artifacting that can appear with lesser cards.

    I thought it was BS too but after putting in a real card into the machine, it flew.
     
  11. Camp OTE

    Camp OTE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    What did you use before the Quadro? What type of modeling were you doing?
     
  12. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I'm not an engineer so I can't say what it was being used for. It was an nVidia card though. The recommended cards have come down in price quite a bit.
     
  13. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,488
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ca
    :werd: Ran into the same issues at work myself.

    For small assemblies the Quadro FX 570 works well and runs ~$150.
     

Share This Page