Need advice..

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by interstate, Apr 29, 2008.

1. interstate

interstate New Member

Alright, I'm a college student, moving into a new apt by myself soon and want to get a surrounds system.. I don't want to spend a lot, and the system doesn't have to be crazy, because I'll be in an apartment. I just want something a little more than the speakers on my LCD TV.

Anyway, a quick look at circuitcity.com tells me that I can get a cheap system for like $300ish.. Are these cheap systems decent, or should I really look at spending a little bit more? Like I said, I'm not an audiophile.. I just would like surrounds and a little better audio than the in-tv speakers.

I have nothing that I can really use.. my DVD player is quite old, no upconverting.. I'd like a new one. My TV is a Vizio 32" LCD TV. It would be nice to have pieces that I could keep when I want to get a better system down the road, but that isn't necessary. I know a lot of you are kind of elitists, but I'm not going to spend a lot right now...

2. JRock10

JRock10 Active Member

You could go with a nice receiver and a cheapish HTIB setup so you could upgrade the speakers later. Or you could just buy a decent full HTIB for this setup now, and later down the road move this setup to the bedroom or something.

3. Original

Original OT Supporter

:werd: i started out with a decent HTIB.. then down the road tossed the fronts and sub and bought much better stuff when I could afford it. :hsd:

4. interstate

interstate New Member

How much would a "decent" HTIB cost me? The $300ish range or more? I looks like they don't have a receiver, just a DVD player and speakers.. would I just get a new DVD player and a receiver if i wanted to upgrade?

5. wabash9000

wabash9000 Active Member