A&P Need advice on rates

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by tenplanescrashing, Jun 15, 2009.

1. tenplanescrashing

tenplanescrashing Active Member

I may be shooting a paid gig here in a couple weeks but I haven't done any kind of hourly rate + add-ons, just a flat rate for time, processing and a CD.

I don't have a lot of details, but it is a 70th birthday party for my cousin's co-worker's mom. They'd like me for a couple hours to shoot random photos of the party then process them and provide them a CD/DVD of them.

They also asked if I could create a slideshow of old photos from the 1930's that would display at the party. I can easily do this as long as they provide a digital scan of the photos. If they require scanning and converting, I won't be able to do so.

I'm no pro and don't advertise myself at all...this was completely word of mouth suggestion from my cousin. So for say ~4 hours, processing & slideshow, what sounds like a reasonable price to charge?

2. FusionZ06

FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

3. The_Eagle_Has_Landed

The_Eagle_Has_Landed New Member

whats your time worth to you?

4. tenplanescrashing

honestly, i'd probably be doing very little, if anything around that time except enjoying a day off so extra money is always nice. I just don't want to overcharge and scare them off and definitely don't want to undercharge based on what I can do.

5. FusionZ06

FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

I'd charge $350 for something like that...

6. tenplanescrashing

My cousin and her mom spoke about this (they both know the woman) and think between $250-300 is a good rate. The time spent there won't be as long as I anticipated, but who knows.

I told my cousin to ask the coworker what she was expecting to pay and go from there. If they go higher than the range, then she'll throw out the $300 number. If they go lower than the range, then she'll throw out the lower number. I think that's pretty fair.

7. Girth

Girth ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ OT Supporter