Need a new power supply

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mrburner, Sep 3, 2004.

  1. mrburner

    mrburner Ron Paul 2008

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    7,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix
    probably 500w or more as i have 3 cd drives and am about to put on a 4th hard drive...want something that isn't too expensive (hopefully under $100) and that has A LOT of the power connectors for cd drives/hard drives/fans (don't know what they are called) as now i am just using the power supply thtat came with my case and i can tell it is struggling

    any suggestions?
     
  2. Grifter

    Grifter Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    3,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the southwest
  3. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,925
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  4. Grifter

    Grifter Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2000
    Messages:
    3,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the southwest
    I only have two [​IMG]
     
  5. slowbird

    slowbird I am the son, and the heir, of a shyness that is c OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    40,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Steelers/Pens crew
  6. 01000101

    01000101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. Muchacho_Gasolino

    Muchacho_Gasolino New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NC
    ebay was good for power supplies for me
    i got a nice 400 something watt thermaltake off there for like $50

    i wouldnt recommend going noname i had 3 or 4 burn up on me in my old comp
    and they arent that much cheaper
    if youre gonna drop all the money on those drives lol why not on the power supply for them
     
  8. mattATX

    mattATX OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    6,913
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    ATX
    Antec 550 or antec 480 both will run your system fine.
     
  9. mrburner

    mrburner Ron Paul 2008

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    7,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix
  10. userlain

    userlain I use proper grammar on the internet.

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    get 2 550watt supplies. that way you know you are getting enough power to all devices.
     

Share This Page