Need a new PC, some advice

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Biomechanoid, Jun 8, 2005.

  1. Biomechanoid

    Biomechanoid New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    7,265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Woodline.
    when I built my rig it was fanastic for it's time (about 3 years ago).

    athlon 1400XP (OC'd to 1800)
    GeForce 3 64MB
    1 gig of 3200 DDR ram
    750W PSU
    custom built mid tower case
    2 120mm 135CFM side fans
    2 80mm 100CFM exhaust fans
    and some HD's (upgraded last year)




    well, now the paint is starting to wear on the case, the CPU and graphics card are horribly outdated, and I'm tired of the jet engine sound that the fans make.

    it's been a long while since I've looked at the hardware market, and I'm not sure what's out there. I have no qualms about OCing a CPU if that's the cheaper way for me to go for some higher end processing power, but I have a limited budget on the vid card- only $150. I don't know if I should upgrade the ram or keep it, and it seems to be serving me well. I also want to go to a much quieter cooling system. I've been looking at watercooling but don't know if it's worth the effort as some people say you can get the same level of cooling with quiet air systems

    any suggestions on what kinds of products I should start looking at? I've had some very bad experiences with intel, so I refuse to use their products anymore, but I'm very open to either camp of graphics card (Nvidia or Radeon).


    mainly my PC is used for gaming, with some video editing if that effects what products I should be looking at. I really don't want to be spending much more than $600 total for everything
     
  2. Maffy29

    Maffy29 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,799
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    You should be able to put together a nice AMD Athlon XP system for well under your budget. Check out Newegg for video cards. You should be able to get a nice 128mb or 256mb card with a Geforce or Raedon chipset. I got a Sapphire 128mb Geforce card for right at $100 with a DVI hookup for my LCD monitor. Are you going to use any of the parts from your old computer? That might allow you to spend a little more money on other components. I suggest making a list and then price it out on Newegg. Also check out http://www.ibuypower.com/ for other ideas. They have a nice layout for computers. Build a system there and then just look for the parts elsewhere. Prices should be somewhat similar. It will also give you an idea of what all you will need.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    You will not get anything that I would call a "gamer" box for $600... But if you're doing fine with a gf3 64mb right now, then that's not an issue. Even a cheap FX5200 is a good upgrade.

    I'd look at the celeron d chips for cost.
     
  4. GTS4eva

    GTS4eva New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    You can get:

    - AMD Athlon XP 2800+
    - Rosewill Case
    - Sony CDRW / DVDR
    - Floppy Drive
    - 1GB RAM (512 x 2)
    - Windows XP Home Edition with SP2
    - Keyboard + Optical Mouse
    - ECS Motherboard
    - 160Gig Hard drive

    for $562.... this isnt a gaming comp though, more of a "work" or multi-tasking comp
     
  5. narcisis

    narcisis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    40,670
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    AMD? Bah! :fawk:
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you have only 1 post and we're already gonna think you're an ignorant fuck.

    I run intel, and I *LOVE* my intel... But AMD makes some kickass stuff, too.
     
  7. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Now that didn't take long :rofl: :rofl:
     
  8. JimboJones

    JimboJones Guest

    This isn't a bad setup, but I don't see any reason you can't use your current RAM since I think the motherboard you would set up around would probably be DDR and not DDR-2 expecially if you go with AMD make sure the motherboard is Socket 939.
    BTW, AMD offers better overclocking potential than Intel if you get a motherboard that gives you some settings for that and you can get a 64-bit enable chip for future OSes. I would definitely suggest staying away from Celeron CPUs.
     
  9. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    You probably can't use the same ram as it would probably be PC2100 which would be a bottleneck. And if your upgrading, it would probably make sense to go with a Socket 939 AMD64 system, as the XP is outdated tech.
     
  10. narcisis

    narcisis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    40,670
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD

    Actually, anus, I've been an OT member since 03. Just happened to get a new pc just now and saw my acct was deleted after 6mos inactivity - had to register over again :squint:

    and again, bah on AMD! (till I get one, then it'll be phat :coolugh: )
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Thats B.S. There are accounts from LONG ago that are around w/o posts....

    And whether or not you have visited a site in the past does not make you a member...

    This simply furthers my point.
     
  12. narcisis

    narcisis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    40,670
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    BS? Actually it's not, as for officially being a "member", if it requires that little fee now then gee I guess I'm not one. But I *have* been here since 03, way before the fee even started.

    And OT hasn't changed abit I see, people still love talking shit and starting nonsense :)

    I hope there's some friendly people left.. unlike say.. you. :greddy:
     
  13. JimboJones

    JimboJones Guest

    Well I think the CPU he has now is running at 266 MHz FSB, so he probably has PC2700 or maybe PC3200, so he might still be able to use it.
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    :greddy: A 266MHz FSB uses PC-2100...


    PC-2700 = 333MHz
    PC-3200 = 400MHz
     

Share This Page