Need a little help with my Linksys Router...quits working

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Platinum_Thunder, Oct 8, 2003.

  1. Platinum_Thunder

    Platinum_Thunder Reliability for life and liberty

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    108,824
    Likes Received:
    194
    It would just stop working after a couple days when I first got it and then I went for almost 3 weeks without a problem. Now it fucking crashes again and when I reset it and go into the setup it tells me that I am not connected to the internet which is horseshit because if I were not I would not be able to post. So my question is, should I try something different or just return it and try a DLink or something? Help :hs:
     
  2. DSHR

    DSHR Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2000
    Messages:
    73,585
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    ATL|LA
    I'd return it :eek3:
     
  3. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    ya i'd return it and get another one...or swap it for a netgear
     
  4. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    return it - but not for a dlink but for either another liksys or a netgear
     
  5. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,613
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    It probably expired. Consumer grade stuff does that. :fawk:

    Return it.
     
  6. Platinum_Thunder

    Platinum_Thunder Reliability for life and liberty

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    108,824
    Likes Received:
    194
    for the same one? or different
     
  7. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    might as well get the same one if it's one you like - you probably just got a lemon
     
  8. Kazmont

    Kazmont Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Messages:
    4,639
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Albany, IN
    might have to put your MAC address in there.
     
  9. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    Did you try installing the latest firmware? When I had my linksys, the old firmware was extremely buggy and finicky. Give that a shot before you return it.

    -crontab -l
     
  10. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    :werd: I hate that.... I was talking to a guy at best buy awhile back and he was saying the longest he's ever gotten one to last at his home was 18 months :ugh:

    I have a Linksys router (consumer grade) that is still good going on 3 years in service. Although I just replaced it with a linksys wireless-g one for the main hardware.
     

Share This Page